The Advocate Program~Audrey

 

If you could choose your own hero, someone to be your advocate who would you choose? That successful business woman who you admire? The good looking professor who could teach you things about your field?

While we may choose our own heroes we can not chose our own advocate. This is productive for us because we don’t get sidetrack by lust or jealous or any other negative emotions we would get from moving a human being into God’s position.

In Max Lucado’s Fearless he discusses the idea of Jesus’ advocate. Jesus himself had to leave us but he would not leave with out someway to continue down his path. Jesus granted us the Holy Spirit to be an advocate of our spirituality. Lucado points out that in the original version of John 14:26-27 the word “allos” is used before being translated into advocate. “Allos” means one just like the first. So the Holy Spirit is just like Jesus. It gives us the same strengths and support that Jesus did. The big difference is that the Holy Spirit lives inside us like a life force.

I’ve been considering my idea of advocate this past week. One of the volunteers at the therapeutic riding center I worked at and another girl were in a tragic car accident. My volunteer was driving when a car ran a stop sign and T-boned the car. The passenger did not survive. I grieved for this girl and for my volunteer’s pain unaware of how both she and I could deal with this idea of youth lost. But the Holy Spirit allowed me to mourn and then pick myself up so I could help those affected by this tragedy. I know that the Holy Spirit will give my volunteer the same strength.

So while a hero can be anyone you admire or would like to be like, we all need to remember that our Advocate comes first.

  1. #1 by Renee N. Chaffin on July 23, 2012 - 4:55 pm

    I was going to ask you if you were still reading Fearless. That’s a wonderful book!
    I am so glad that you were able to glean some Peace from it and even more thankful that you shared it with us love you much

  2. #2 by Venus on July 24, 2012 - 5:35 am

    I love this post! I’m glad you were able to help the other people that were affected by the tragedy! I love how Jesus’ is our advocate and that the Holy Spirit is our guide! =) Love you!

  3. #3 by starsinhereye on July 25, 2012 - 2:23 am

    Renee, I finished the book awhile ago but I just got through with the study guide in the back.
    Thanks V!

Leave a comment