Misconceptions ***Danielle***

I think in life, there are many misconceptions. My biggest misconception has been that I would get a job, a salaried job, that  I would feel fulfilled in. When I got my bachelor’s, I didn’t really job hunt because I knew I was going back to get my masters and the doors would be busting wide open for m. It didn’t and hasn’t happened that way for me. I’ve applied for jobs, some where I felt has my name on it. Then I get that awesome (see my sarcastic face) rejection email, letter, or postcard and no matter how you psych yourself up and that it would be okay, no matter the outcome, it still hurts. Yesterday, I received one of those letters. 

Starting on this radical journey has really opened my ears and eyes to what God is telling me. IT comes from any mode of media, a book/magazine I’m reading, a billboard, tv program. This past weekend, Oprah had Susan Surandon  on OWN’s Master Class. One of the topics that she covered was on rejection. She said, that whenever she got a rejection call from a movie, she would still celebrate, a meal or whatever her budget would allow. She said that failures need not to be looked at as a bad thing. So when I received that rejection letter, I felt myself reverting to what I know which was to fill that sadness with as much food as I could possibly hold but I had to literally ground myself–make myself conscious of what I was thinking about doing and the possible ramifications. I decided to do something Radical:  I rewarded myself for getting a rejection letter. I took the envelope that the letter came in and wrote: “It only takes one YES!!” and I exercised.

Life is full of misconceptions and when your blinders are taken off of different situations, don’t feel defeated, root yourself in God and know that his timing is perfect. It’s not always about the destination but the journey it takes to get there.

 

Still Pushing, 

Dani

 

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Renee N. Smith on June 12, 2013 - 9:18 pm

    This was beautiful. And i know your one “yes” is on the way! What’s funny when you get the yes, you won’t remember the nos. The most important part is how you handle all of it..success and rejection. So proud of how you handled it!

  2. #2 by Venus on June 13, 2013 - 3:26 am

    Hey Dani! I also shared the same perception you had. Things so didn’t happen the way that I thought they would after I graduated. lol! I never heard of celebrating a rejection letter. That’s something different! Kudos to you for celebrating your rejection letter! Continue to stay positive!-Venus

  3. #3 by Pam Rush on June 13, 2013 - 5:08 pm

    You are just amazing. I love that you transformed that negative into a positive for yourself.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

