Psyched *Kelly*

virginia-psychologists-continuing-education

I spent the past year obsessing over pregnancy/surrogacy. Luckily I followed good advice to believe in myself and apply for grad school again. Now I can spend the next year (or 6) obsessing over my future career. I know it will be a difficult road, but I am excited to be back on track. I worked hard throughout my undergraduate and master’s program with one thing in mind… the elusive Ph.D. and the job opportunities that it entails.

The first step ahead of me is acquainting myself with the many different projects my new mentor has going. After reading articles related to each one, I get to choose with projects I want to become personally involved with–all of which include studying correlates of and treatments for child maltreatment. I can’t wait to begin! The real work will start this fall when school starts and Elias goes to daycare. I will be using my time very wisely to make sure every hour Eli is in daycare will be spent productively. Elias is going to get good quality time with me every day. He’s always going to be my top priority. I find no better motivation for success than picturing Eli at my graduation.

Wish me luck as I start this process, and please send up a prayer for me as I read up on the projects I will potentially be starting this fall. I want discernment in choosing wisely to find projects that I will be good at helping with and that will help me advance my career.

Grad school is a notoriously emotional process. I plan to use all the tools at my disposal to stay centered and see the big picture as I walk this academic labyrinth. Little steps each day add up to big success in the end. Thank you in advance for your prayers and support.

Love and luck until next time!

Kelly

  1. #1 by Renee N. Smith on March 15, 2014 - 8:01 pm

    Good luck hun! Im sure you wont need it. So excited to see things working in your favor. I love you

  2. #2 by Venus on March 15, 2014 - 10:20 pm

    Yay to you returning back to school! I’ll be praying that you will choose the right projects! I know Eli will appreciate the time you’ll be spending w/ him! I’m proud of you Kels! Love you!

  3. #3 by starsinhereye on March 24, 2014 - 5:17 pm

    Congrats girl! Praying for a an easy path to balance! Love you!
    ~Audrey

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

