See, What Had Happened Was.. Danielle

life.

These last few months have been tumultuous to say the least. Let I give you a quick breakdown of the last few months:

December 2013- I took a leap of faith and applied and got approved for a car. I’m the proud owner of a 2004 Honda CR-V, which is also the car that I have wanted since I learned to drive. 2 days before Christmas, I was invited for a interview at a local mental health center for the position of, drumroll please….a therapist! It was by far one of the best interviews I’ve ever had and I really felt good about it.

January 2014- I went in for a pap smear and a lump was found by the nurse practitioner. I was then seen by a surgeon who ordered a lumpectomy (removal of the lump). I had 2, one was benign and the other was cancerous…

…I inserted dots because my life halted, literally I heard my dreams screeching. I went from, that morning being told I was officially hired as a therapist to being told that afternoon I had the big C. I was then sent to an oncologist where I was officially diagnosed with stage 0 breast cancer, which means the cancer is not likely to spread but it does have the possibility to return in the same breast.

February 6, 2014- One of my oldest brothers passed away at our house from cardiac arrest. He was only 35.

February 17, 2014- I started my new job as a substance therapist.

February 24, 2014- I began radiation treatments (6 weeks, 5 days a week), which I am prayerful will kill any and all cancer cells in my body.

WELP, thats what been happening in my world. This has been an eye opening experience. People have come of the woodwork to offer me support and prayers, which I am really grateful for. On a personal note, I have really stopped doing things. I really haven’t worked on any new earring designs or created any event planning idea blogs. I thought maybe having cancer would be my motivator, to kick me in high gear. But, right now, I am in the midst of not trying to be in a rut. I call it a walking sadness. I am doing the usual things but there are other times, like when Im at work and I feel so out of my league and feel ineffective and  with the added feelings of being nauseous, breast tenderness from radiation, and my lack of exercise since last year, I am literally living for the weekend.

At this moment, I am taking it, as a phrase I’m hearing on a weekly basis, one day at a time. I am doing my best to not worry and let  God does what he does best, which is to take care of me.

Still PUSHing with a case of sunburn,

DaniGee

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on March 24, 2014 - 5:23 pm

    Hey babe. Though I don’t have to contend with the radiation and the idea of the Big C, I can understand how an all encompassing disease can make you feel like a rut. I have the same trouble. I have to kick myself in the butt several times before I do anything-even if it will make me feel better. Praying for you to be able to do that as well as your treatment and diagnosis. I love you so much!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Venus on March 29, 2014 - 6:17 am

    Hey Dani! Wow, you have had a lot going on (some good & some bad). I hope that after you get done w/ the radiation, you’ll be out of your rut. Congrats on your new job! I’ll continue to lift you up in prayer! Love you! ~Venus

  3. #3 by Renee N. Smith on March 30, 2014 - 8:34 am

    Hey thought I responded! Sorry!
    Love you so much for sharing your struggle and your victories. We need both in order to fulfill our fathers work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

