Beyond my little world by Beyondai

Yesterday was an emotional day for many people who once again reflected and relived the horrific tragedy that happened 10 years ago. I would hear my cohorts talk about how emotional they were that day it happened. How upset and sad they were. For me, it wasn’t that way. It wasn’t that way at all. I was in 8th grade when it happened, and to be quite honest my mind could not grasp such a concept. I saw the images of the smoke coming from the buildings. I even saw the images of the dust-filled NY streets after the buildings collapse. I think I was confused about what was happening, it seemed so surreal. Ten years later, while watching one of my favorite movies, Pearl Harbor, I was finally able to grasp the magnitude and emotional of what 9/11 represented. Gathering myself together after shedding a few tears for the victims of Pearl Harbor AND 9/11, I realized something. War, though painful and horrific, can never be stopped. It is engrained even in those who try to seek peace. The promise is that there is a rebuilding stage after every storm. A time be reflect, a time to become stronger, and a time to become wiser. There is a season for everything in life. When it changes, we change with it. My heart goes out to the victims of 9/11 and their families. May God continue to be with you.

The Un-comfort Zone: I stepped out my little world to grasp the magnitude of someone else’s life.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

