Lord, Keep A Hand Over My Mouth ~Danielle~

I work at an assisted living with a 100%  women employee staff (excluding the cook and maintenance man). I dislike the saying that all women are catty and spiteful towards each other, especially when I have women in my lives who are the exact opposite, but the majority of the women I work with proves the statement to be true. It irks me to the point of madness how they can sit around and talk about everybody and everything. I have learned very quickly to keep to myself, be polite but keep going.

In my 5 months of working, I have come to know  3 women, in my workplace, who is like minded, college educated, and feels/knows that our current place of employment will not be our permanent place of employment. I have to admit, sometimes we sit around and we discuss how these people talk about other people and how they are complacent in their work. Finally, God had to shine the light on lil ole me. I was doing the exact same thing I was accusing them of doing.  How can the pot call the kettle black?

I had to really take a step back and examine my words. How was it for me to stand around and basically judge these people and justify what I was doing as right. At the end of the day, these women are GOD’s children, made in his likeness, purposed for HIS glory.

I now have a challenge (which ultimately becomes your challenge as well, yep…YOU)…to end verbal chain letter of GOSSIP, no matter how I(WE) view the person’s actions. Before I (WE) say something negative about the person, I (WE) will say a prayer over this person and over my (our) tongue, so that I (WE) can speak life over everyone and everything.

Keep thy tongue from evil, and thy lips from guile. Psalms 34:13 (KJV)

Keep Pushing.

  1. #1 by Kelly Diane Cromer on September 17, 2011 - 5:37 pm

    I feel you Danielle! I’ve been that pot lol.

    -Kelly

  2. #2 by Nicole DeBusk on September 26, 2011 - 7:47 pm

    I absolutely know how you feel. I work with all women too as a nurse lol it’s not easy. I just try to stay pretty neutral. It’s funny how night shift staff will complain about day shift staff and vice versa too. I always have to tell myself if someone does something I don’t like, I need to talk with them personally.

Leave a Reply

