God’s Most Beautiful Language…

Today, I realized how important it is to remember things you learned in school. Turns out, I had to remember something I learned in elementary. While running errands with my grandmother, we ran into someone she had seen on several occasions. She spoke to him, but he did not say anything. He just smiled and waved. He would point to her then to the lady working behind the desk of the business establishment. After a few moments of observing him, a small voice said that the young guy may be deaf. At that very moment, the young guy turned to me and tried to communicate. I was freaking out because I did not know what to do. My impulse was to smile and turn my head. I know that sounds harsh, but I did not want to make him feel uncomfortable… I watch this show called “Switched at birth” and it sometimes is frustrating for people who are death to communicate with people who are not. I wanted to avoid any uncomfortableness, but then I remembered Radical 7even. This was my opportunity to step out of my comfort zone. So, I decided to try to communicate with him. He seemed thrill that my body language suggested that I would try to communicate with him. This is the transcript of our conversation:

Him: (points at me then my grandmother, then points at his nose and mouth.)

Me: (pointing at my grandmother) Yes, that’s my grandmother and people say we look a like all the time.

Him: (Smiles and nods with confirmation. Looks at the book that my grandmother just signed and attempts to speak) Add-e.

My grandmother: Yes, my name is Addie.

Him: (looks at me and attempts to say) Your name?

This is where I panicked. I know that some people who are deaf can read lips. So they could pick up on simple names. Unfortunately, I don’t have a simple name. People who speak and hear have trouble with it, so I know that this will cause some frustration. He was waiting for me to say my name. Then that small voice spoke to me again. Thank God it did because I remember that in fourth grade I learn the alphabet in sign language. I am so glad I paid attention in class that day! I signed my name: B-E-Y-O-N-D-A-I. OMG! Though I struggled with the spelling, when I was finished he remembered every letter and smiled with approval. It was so awesome to communicate with him. We were the only two in the room that knew what was being said. Afterwards, my grandmother decided that she wanted to learn sign language too so that she could help him.

It reminds of personal conversations with God. God can give us visions or visuals as his way of communicating. But the outside world just does not understand them. It is not for them to understand, it is a beautiful, personal language between you and God. Sign language is a beautiful language because it is spoken and yet not spoken. God can prepare you at anytime in your life for a small encounter later down the road. SO PAY ATTENTION TO LIFE’S SMALLEST LESSONS, because somewhere down the road there may be a SIGN for you use it!!!

-Bey

  1. #1 by Kelly Diane Cromer on September 22, 2011 - 11:07 am

    I want to learn sign language too! That was a wonderful moment B. 🙂

  2. #2 by Danielle on September 22, 2011 - 3:01 pm

    Great post Bey!!! Awesome opportunity to step out!

  3. #3 by Renee on September 22, 2011 - 11:47 pm

    Love it hun!! Radical7even is def working its way through ur life. Think if you hadnt listened to the Holy Spirit, you would have missed an opportunity to learn and influence ur grandmother. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

