Jesus Piece ++Gem++

I have no idea how or why the phrase “Jesus piece” kept creeping into my thoughts. I tried to ignore it but for the past three days it has been following me around. Jesus piece, Jesus piece, Jesus piece. Now if you google this you will find many different descriptions for the term. But the definition I will go with for the sake of what I think God is dealing with in regards to my spiritual walk is : some type of representation of Jesus, could be jewelery, a bumper sticker, a bookmark in your book.  Let’s just say your Jesus piece in anything tangible that you may have that could signify “Hey I’m down with GOD”. We all have our Jesus pieces. For the past 6 years or so I have worn a gold necklace with a cross pendant around my neck. I like it, its pretty and I’ve only taken it off maybe 3 or 4 times over the past 6 years. This is my Jesus piece.

I’d like to say that whenever I get ready in the morning and see my necklace, I am reminded of the good works of the Lord. I’d also love to say that when something gets tangled in my necklace and I spend almost 30 minutes untangling it, I look down and stare at the cross and think my Lord was crucified and bore the sins of the world so that I could live a life full of his grace. I would also like to say that when someone compliments me on my necklace that I tell them what the cross means to me and the significance of God in my life. These are all things I would LIKE to say and do but I don’t. I have been wearing this necklace and it should be a reminder of all the things I mentioned but it isn’t. If I am chosing to have something that represents Christ, I should also be choosing to let it remind me of Christ. This is something that I now will strive to do. When I am having a rough day and feel like giving up I can look at me necklace and think: I can do all things through Christ who stregthens me me (Phillipians 4:13) Or when I have a day when I feel like there is no fight left in me, I can look at my necklace and think: The Lord will fight for you, you need only be still. (Hebrews 14:14).

Most of all I can let this “piece” remind me of the Lord’s “peace”. The rest of God, a place intended to shower his comfort and Grace upon us. God wants this for all of us. The Bible says in John “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid” (John 14:27).

The Lord has given us peace, he has left it with us so that we can rest knowing that he will take care of us and we should not worry or be afraid. So I am proud to say that I rock a Jesus piece….I am even prouder to say that I am striving every day to rock Jesus’ peace 🙂

One day at a time

Gem

  1. #1 by Kelly Diane Cromer on September 25, 2011 - 12:06 pm

    I love it Gem! I need to get a Jesus piece to rock…

  2. #2 by Renee on September 25, 2011 - 4:34 pm

    This was beautiful sweet heart!-Renee

  3. #3 by Danielle on September 25, 2011 - 11:45 pm

    Great post Gem!! I think forget sometimes the things that we see everyday…God.has to send us.reminders every once in awhile!

Leave a Reply

