The Girl in the Mirror **Danielle**

Losing weight has always seemed to be apart of my life for as long as I could remember. If I had a twin, Losing Weight (LB) would be her name. I have always been a big girl- can’t remember a time when I wasn’t it. Heck, I was 10 lbs 14 oz when I came out of my mom’s womb.

However, the summer of my 10th grade, I started walking around the house, buying sweat suits, free weights, I went from 280 to 260. I was proud of myself. I pretty much kept steady at that weight throughout college until my last couple of year of undergraduate. I graduated with my Bachelor’s in 2007. As usual, in 2008, I make my New Year’s Resolution to lose weight. Every year is going to THE year. So, I went and weighed myself, only to see the scale scream 303 (GASP). That scared me and eventually make me sad. So what did I do? I went back to what I knew worked-I walked  and I watched what I ate. By the time I came back to school for my Masters, I was back to 280. My friends noticed the difference in my apearance. I noticed the difference in my physcial appearance,emotional, and spiritual. I was feeling so much better, had so much more energy, and anything else that the books and doctors tell you happens when you exercise. I was so proud of myself, becasue one I was not only juggling grad school but I was stickingto my exercise/eating routine. More importantly, It was all me. I didn’t have any exercise buddies or personal trainers– just me, my mp3 player, and sweet Jesus. I got down to 258.

Something happened in 2009. I hit a plateau. The scale wouldn’t move and with that my fire for exercising dwindled. 2010 and 2011, they have both been the IT year, the year that my weight was going to shed, that my explosve motivationwas going to return but unfortunately it hasn’t. It frustrates me becasue I know what tho do to lose the weight. I know the good feelings that come from physical exercise and how that transcends my day. So what”s the problem? That’s my million dollar question. Until I figure the emotions and reasoning behind my weight,  I feel that the rollercoster will continue and  I WILL NOT claim that. So, in comng months, I will do series of blog entries  to try to explore the  reasons behind my weight and how I can finally beat the battle of the bulge.

Ask, and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. Matthew 7:7

Keep Pushing.

  1. #1 by Kelly Diane Cromer on September 25, 2011 - 12:02 pm

    I’ve often wondered myself about why can I never seem to get my eating under control. I’m either dieting or overeating, sometimes both in the same day. My eating seems to have more to do with my stress level than anything else. Maybe we can both figure this out together…

Leave a Reply

