Week 4- Renee`

 

Title: Funny actin’

So, as I said in my last video I decided to take the entire week off last week. Just singing I said: I am FREE I feel so good. The devil heard that and decided to just completely disrupt my plans. I didn’t end up resting, or reading much from my text books and I did not go on my retreat with God. Instead I spent the majority of the “vacation” wound up, stressed out and over all tired. To top it all off I had class all weekend long from 9-5. I went to sleep Saturday with a million and one plans and woke up Sunday morning sick! I mean a sickness that just came out of nowhere, I hadn’t even had a sniffle the night before. My body was aching, head pounding stomach turning sick! I was so sick standing up was a challenge.

I ended up missing most of my class and rolling around the bed feeling sorry for myself 97% of the day. I never get sick. I have used to work in daycare for three years and with all the crazy illnesses (foot mouth disease, colds, flus  etc) I never got sick. And here I was totally out of it, just randomly. I was so mad..my week of vacation had not turned out like I planned and now I was ending vacation sick!

God why?

Well He answered me. When you don’t take care of your body,mind,emotions and spirit you will get sick. If you are running around putting out fires for everyone else, but not letting God be your strength, you will run yourself right into the ground.  I was sick, because I neglected my time with God, here I was on my radical7even journey and I left God on the side of the road. I had to be sidetracked by HIM so I could really ask HIM to go on this journey with me. One of my goals is to look at things from a more positive aspect, how can one look at sickness as a positive…well 1) my sickness had me praying to God like never before 2) my sickness allowed me to realize that I take my health for granted (every day I wake up I don’t think that “wow, God woke me up feeling good, walking, talking” many morning esp Mondays I can say..man weekends go too fast and complain.) 3) I was able to really receive love, because my mother came over to help take care of me and my friend kept my son while I was unable to.

Also while I was sick I surfed Facebook a lot LOL during my search I ran across a sweet little girl named Starla, a two year old little girl who was recently diagnosed with leukemia. I couldn’t help but cry. Here I was whining because I had some crazy fluke sickness and here was a precious baby girl literally fighting for her life. In the picture they show her receiving her meds and she is smiling. Jesus said in Matthew 18:3 And he said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.  I don’t think I understood what that meant until Sunday. Starla isn’t mad at God for making her sick, she isn’t spending her days worried or upset that this is happening to her. Because of her age she might not even understand what the diagnosis means…she is just a child, smiling happy, trusting even in the midst of a serious life challenge. I must be like a child..smiling, trusting and loving in the midst of health or sickness, wealth or poverty, single or married.

Trust is what a relationship is built upon. If I don’t believe that GOD can and WILL do all things for the betterment of me as a person…I have no relationship at all. I have an acknowledgement of Him, with no power. I need His power, I want a relationship…so whatever HE uses to get my attention I will count it all joy, like Job I will say: “Though He slay me, yet will I trust Him”.

My radical7even moment: I will talk to my boss about funding for my position. I am currently on a contract that ends next August and I will be out of a job if other funding options are not found. The pass two years I haven’t been as proactive about asking my agency about funding opportunities or looking as diligently as I can to find one. Before time runs out I need to explore all the options my agency has for me, be more proactive about my life. I tend not to want to rock the boat and just trust that everything will work itself out. But in this case I feel lead to do more, so I shall step out.

Also, Danielle and I have decided to be bone marrow donors! I have had too many friends and family affected by Cancer and other diseases that marrow donation might help put into remission. Also, African Americans are needed to do more in this area, there is a shortage. I am a bit scared, because I don’t even donate blood (i KNOW, crazy right), but I have decided that this year I might be able to save a life. My first step is to donate blood before the end of the year is out.  I plan to celebrate my birthday this year raising money for Invisible Children.

Keep pushing

Renee`

To join the Starla prayer group click here:  http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=174438839301375

For more information on bone marrow donation visit: http://www.marrow.org/

For more information on Invisible Children:  http://www.invisiblechildren.com/

  1. #1 by Venus on January 1, 2012 - 3:32 am

    Hey Nee!! I know I hate when things don’t go as I plan them!! BEING SICK SUCKS!!! LOL! I’m glad you learned a lesson from everything that was going on! Its important to take care of ourselves! CONGRATS on you and Dani being bone marrow donors!!! Sorry for being late!!

Leave a Reply

