I Take Public Transportation

Taking public transportation may not sound like a big deal if you live in urban cities, in those it may be totally normal and acceptable. However, for me, it was a step out of my comfort zone.

I actually started riding the bus about a week before Radical 7even began. I use to drive my roommate’s car to and from work but.when her schedule changed, I decided I would take the bus instead of having to ask a friend to drop me off. I wanted to know that I could get myself to work on my own.

I have to say when I first walked to the bus stop and sat down, I felt naked. Here I was sitting on a bus bench, which is a bright shade of blue, with my work uniform on, no shades, no big hat to hide my face. Here I was out in the open where any passerby could see me. I felt nervous and slightly ashamed…here I was a person waiting on the bus. On my first day, the Lord sent 4 strangers to the bus stop, it didn’t matter that they were in their own world, I felt less alone.

On the following weeks that I have ridden the bus, I have met a guy who had recently got out of federal prison, a lady who was trying to.raise her grandchild to be educated and God fearing, and a bus driver who seems to have taken a liking to me (smh). I.don’t feel out of place as I thought I would..these are the people who I feel drawn to help, in some way.

This experience has allowed me to see how Blessed I am for the life that I have. Even though I don’t have all the luxuries of life I am still blessed beyond measure.

Better it is to be of an humble spirit with the lowly, than to divide the spoil with the proud.       ~Proverbs 3:34

–Danielle

Keep Pushing.

  1. #1 by renee on October 3, 2011 - 8:05 am

    Amen sweets! This was a beautiful post. Its good that u are taking this and seeing it as a positive. I feel wants we trust God with everything He will def open more doors. I know I do take things for granted,so thanks for sharing

  2. #2 by Kelly Diane Cromer on October 3, 2011 - 2:36 pm

    When I come back to Montgomery, I’m taking the bus with you. 🙂 That was beautiful, as are you D.

  3. #3 by Audrey on October 3, 2011 - 7:31 pm

    So proud of you for being brave and “rolling” out!
    You are much loved!

  4. #4 by Gem on October 7, 2011 - 2:57 am

    I am so proud of you girl. Looking for the positive in your situation. I know you are a blessing to everyone that you’ve come in contact with on the bus!

Leave a Reply

