Twice blessed and entirely illogical

Here my progress for the week. 🙂

1) I’m more closely connected to nature. I’ve purchased and started using a composter. Now I can put my kitchen scraps to good use! I would really like to note that I got it on clearance. I pride myself on being a savy shopper.

2) I’ve gotten a lot more Bible reading done this week. I focused on Ephesians primarily. I’m also reading about Elijah. It seems to me like everyone was pretty angry back then. It was mainly about waiting on God. If they didn’t wait on Him and just went about doing what they thought was right, things always got messed up. If they did the things God instructed them to do, no matter how illogical it seemed at the time, everything worked out. Sometimes the things we think will make us content really don’t bring us peace at all. We don’t always know what’s best for us. That is why I need an active prayer life. Nothing in my life makes sense sometimes. I’ve had a LOT of curve balls thrown at me this week. I’ve had to make a lot of big decisions. I’d hate to think how it would have gone if I hadn’t prayed about it before I made those decisions.

3) I’m back on track with my diet. I have lost another pound, bringing the total to 13 pounds lost. So far I have not hit a plateau.

A few things are still on hold. I haven’t started on my carpentry because my father isn’t back from Orlando yet. He has to work there until December. I have been so busy this week that social life has definitely been on the back burner. My toddler recently entered the terrible two’s stage. It seems all of my children can add ‘terrible’ to their ages as well. They are making it hard for me to get anything done.

I’d like to tell you about my friend Michelle. My story with Michelle ties into the theme of my Bible reading. I’ve made a lot of decisions about relationships that people tell me are not logical, based on the way I feel God is leading me. One of these in particular has really paid off for me. Michelle is my son’s birth mom. Not one person told me it was a good idea to keep Michelle in our son’s life. At the time, I never thought we would have ended up so close. Most foster parents do not get along this well with their children’s birth family. I was warned not to trust her. Everyone expected her to fit the stereotype, but she proved them all wrong. She is an amazing woman. She did what she was supposed to do, earned the right to let her son come home, but chose to let her son keep the bonds he made with our family. Now we are all one big family, so my son is twice as blessed. Most people are against open adoptions. I’m not saying they are easy. I think if people just get past jealousy and pride that it can be the best kind of adoption relationship. She has been such a source of support and encouragement for me. I could not ask for a better friend. She still has her faults; she is a Gator’s fan after all. We are trying to raise him to be a good and decent Alabama fan. We will just do our best and hopefully he will make the right choice in the end. Even so, I love and respect Michelle for putting her son’s needs first and giving me the most awesome gift anybody ever will. I am glad that we both listened to what God was leading us to do for our son.

That’s all for this week. I hope you look for God’s guidance this week in your decision no matter how illogical they seem.

Grace and peace,
Pam

  1. #1 by renee on October 9, 2011 - 4:57 am

    Pam,. Congrads on the weight loss hun!! I so needed to read about Michelle andyalls relationship. There are so many upbeat and positive areas u spoke on im not sure where to start..good news is daniel has also hit a terrible stage so you are not alone in the stuggle. I will pray for you as I hope u will pray for me

  2. #2 by Pamela Cromer Rush on October 10, 2011 - 5:03 am

    I will. We are so much more together than we could ever be alone. Even though I am not close by, I get so much out of this sisterhood that helps push me through. I am so thankful God put us all together.

  3. #3 by Kelly Diane Cromer on October 10, 2011 - 6:30 pm

    Man Pam is looking GOOOOD. I just had to let y’all know. 😉

  4. #4 by Venus on October 12, 2011 - 6:47 am

    Hey Pam! Great job on getting the composter on clearance!! Its always best to obedient to God. When we aren’t obedient, things go crazy and sometimes we end up in situations that we could had avoided. Congrats on losing the weight! I’m glad that you and Michelle get along!!! Kudos to you for giving her a chance when other people had negative things to say! I have a little cousin that is adopted and she is able to see her family on the regular. My cousin’s mother is former crackhead and has got her life back on track. My family has a good relationship w/ my little cousin’s biological family.

Leave a Reply

