Do It Afraid!

As promised, here is a brief synopsis of the first book that I’ve read. It’s called “Do It Afraid by Joyce Meyers. That the Unofficial theme of Radical 7even right now :-). I have to admit that I wasn’t a big fan of Joyce Meyers at first but at the insistence of my sis Gem I decided to give her a chance. I have to admit I have grown to love me some Joyce. She is very straight forward but her messages are filled with love an guidance.

The title says it all: DO IT AFRAID!! She starts off the first section by saying that the right kind of fear is the reverential fear and awe of God. It shouldn’t be the fear that God is going to hurt you but similar of the fear of a person in authority. However, fear of flesh is never necessary.

Proverbs 14:26 (NIV) In the fear of the Lord one has strong confidence and his will have a refuge.

Essentially, if you fear God, you will obey God and your trust in God will grow.

The best part of this little book, to me, was under the section called ‘ The Bible Doesn’t Say, Don’t Feel Afraid.’ It opened my eyes and I had that Aha! moment. Joyce mentioned in the article above the Victory does not come without a battle and through the struggles of Moses, Joshua, Jeremiah…the one constant was God’s statement of ‘Fear Not.” Here is the AHA! moment…you ready for it?!?!?!?!?….Fear Not doesn’t mean we won’t feel the fear. The mistake of feeling fear is when you bow to the fear instead of going head and doing what you are afraid of while you are afraid. There has been so many times when I’ve felt like a failure because I was scared of going to an interview or speaking in front of an audience but I never thought about the power of still going through with the event even though I was afraid. YOU have to continue even in the face of fear.

Joyce states in the last section of the book that God will be faithful to you as long as you are able to walk in the face of fear. She talks about how early in her ministry, when no one really knew of her, she alone had to do all the meetings of a conference, after a bigger name minister had pulled out. The fear began, negative thoughts surfaced. She was so scared  that when she got up to tell the group of 200 women what her workshops would be about, nothing came out. She swallowed, tried again with success. In spite of her fears, she did her workshops and the group of women LOVED her message. The room was so full, they could hardly move.

Joyce ended the book with the section called ‘Just Do It.’  The devil is powerless, he uses what we give and fear is one of his favorite tools. But, we have the ability to do it afraid. Doing it Afraid means really trusting God to take care of you, no matter what the circumstances are. She leaves with this: ” Step out and face your fears; face your pain. Go ahead and shake, tremble, and sweat. God didn’t say not to feel fear– He said not to RUN!” You can be victorious or not. It is up to you if you are going to fight or flee.

Even though, it’s just a small 50 page book, it packed quite a message. I was orginally going to write about some mental battles that I was going through this week but my sisters Audrey and Beyondai pretty much summed up my feelings. So, instead of wallowing I decided to write the counter defense. Yes, the economy is sucking big time. Yes, we are in a waiting period but we (YOU and ME) can choose to  not fear the unknown and know that we can make it day by day with the fact that God’s got our backs. Our battles have already been won.

DO IT AFRAID.

KEEP PUSHING!

Check out this and other selections at http://www.joycemeyer.org/

–Danielle

  1. #1 by renee on October 16, 2011 - 10:18 am

    The more u do it afraid the less power it has over you! Thanks for sharing I so needed this!! Keep pushing

  2. #2 by Gem on October 18, 2011 - 12:11 am

    DO IT AFRAID. Love it and love your post! This was such a good read for me. It reminds me to disregard how I am feeling and do what needs to be done at times. God is always with us, he is the steady hand when we are trembling.

Leave a Reply

