I never promised you a rose garden… *~*Kelly*~*

Hello my beautifuls! I am happy to be blogging again although I am a day late. I never thought I’d be a blogger. 🙂 Now I look forward to it each week. This week was crazy as usual. It’s grad school. That’s to be expected. No biggie. I just have to do things in a certain order and sometimes things I’d really like to attend to like this weekly entry fall by the wayside. Normally I’d write the blog and put off my work, but I had a grant submission due by 1pm, and just a few minutes ago I finally sent it off.

Anyways, I’ve just read everyone’s posts and thought about my life. This song I’ve been listening to a lot lately (because it’s always on the radio) came to mind. It’s a really fun, upbeat song about not taking ourselves so seriously.

Let’s face the facts–we are in temporary bodies, we own temporary belongings, we are in temporary relationships (in their current form), and we are on a temporary Earth Biblicly speaking. Things are going to go wrong. It’s only right.

Recently I read up on my favorite form of therapy again, REBT therapy. It really makes sense to me how people (myself for surely included) engage in inflexible, extreme thinking that lead us to illogical conclusions and overly dramatic emotional reactions to everyday experiences.

http://www.rebtnetwork.org/whatis.html

Read the page linked above if you have the time. It is so worth it. What I really wanted to share though is that we as Christians already know the game plan from beginning to end. God has not given us a spirit of fear (2nd Timothy 1:7), and He didn’t give us a pity party either. It is SO good for us to be compassionate, merciful, and empathetic to others. However, if you feel like you are being personally attacked by Satan because the stoplight turned red as you approached it, it’s time for a reality check.

Our jobs, cars, friends, family, dogs, appliances, hair straighteners, tax forms, politicians, grocery store clerks, and finances are going to give us problems from time to time. Life is full of problems. We already know they will happen. Being shocked and telling everyone Satan is attacking you just because your cell phone died is not only silly, but it makes Christians look like weaklings that only focus on the negative. Where is your joy? Where is your peace? God gave it to us. He didn’t say you’ll have joy and peace when all of your problems go away and life is perfect.

We are imperfect humans in an imperfect world. The only perfect things we can have are perfect love and a perfect God to serve. What more do you need? I’m gonna keep my head up. 😉

(Keep in mind this posted is directed mostly at myself. You can be as negative/positive/optimistic/realistic/pessimistic/idealistic as you want to be.)

Much love to my girls! XOXO

  1. #1 by renee on October 16, 2011 - 5:02 pm

    Lol at satan attacks being at cellphones. I really love this blog. Its cute and uplifting! I hope things continue to go well for ya hun

  2. #2 by beylew on October 16, 2011 - 11:38 pm

    Love the blog and video… and seeing Dwight in the video was a bonus!

  3. #3 by Gem on October 18, 2011 - 12:08 am

    Enjoyed the video and loved your post. You are definitely right,nothing will ever be perfect, life is full of ups and down and your perspective will always determine whether you let your joy get stolen from the “down” moments.

Leave a Reply

