Standing my Ground

Whew! In between migraines, asthma attacks, and running out of gas just in time to miss my kids bus, the whole week flew by. I got a call about my son, in kindergarten, who was pretending to be a dog and would not stop barking at the teacher. That made me laugh. Not in front of him, but you know that is funny. I had a lot of family and extended family stress to deal with also. Now it is Saturday and my brain just said no more thinking and went on autopilot. I am spent. My question is how do you give to the people you love without running yourself into the ground? I know boundaries is the answer but where should they be put? I carry a lot of guilt and empathy. I try to be compassionate. I feel not just an obligation, but a desire to be compassionate. This has to be an extension of the way God is working on my heart. Still, I am afraid to give too much, and take away from my kids which is my main calling in life. To put it in the words of my late Uncle Otis, “Don’t be so heavenly minded, that you are of no earthly good.” That is not scripture of course but he was a preacher. This is a delima I have faced for some time. It is accompanied by the should haves a.k.a. shoulditis. I just cannot tell how much stress I can handle until I am in too deep. This week I am trying to decide about something in the future that I want to be able to handle but I’m not sure if I can. I know that God will give me strength to do what He wants me to do. I just need to know if this is what He want me to do. I am praying  and waiting…..I did not make tons of progress with my goals. I just stood my ground so to speak. I am not taking that as a defeat. Just not a total victory. Some weeks it is enough to just keep it all going without any major disasters.

  1. #1 by Kelly Diane Cromer on October 16, 2011 - 1:09 am

    I’m rolling around on the ground laughing maniacally lol. LOLOLOLOL!!!! This of course means nothing but I find it amusing in this state of sleep deprivation. 😀

  2. #2 by renee on October 16, 2011 - 1:23 am

    Aw…lol barking. Gotta have some comic relief. Sorry things have been so stressful..i couldnt imagine. Keeping u and the little ones in prayer hun

Leave a Reply

