The Missing Link

So, this past Sunday, I had this feeling of “I’m missing a piece of the big pie.” My prayers life has improved, I ‘m thinking more positive thoughts but then it hit me like a ton of bricks, I have not been in the word like I needed to be. I grabbed my bible, said a prayer to receive a blessing, then headed to the subject index. I stopped at the theme, When a situation seems hopeless, it sounded like a winner.  It took me to Luke 18:18-30,

 

18 A certain ruler asked him, “Good teacher, what must I do to inherit eternal life?”

19 “Why do you call me good?” Jesus answered. “No one is good—except God alone. 20 You know the commandments: ‘You shall not commit adultery, you shall not murder, you shall not steal, you shall not give false testimony, honor your father and mother.’[a]

21 “All these I have kept since I was a boy,” he said.

22 When Jesus heard this, he said to him, “You still lack one thing. Sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”

23 When he heard this, he became very sad, because he was very wealthy. 24 Jesus looked at him and said,“How hard it is for the rich to enter the kingdom of God! 25 Indeed, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for someone who is rich to enter the kingdom of God.”

26 Those who heard this asked, “Who then can be saved?”

27 Jesus replied, “What is impossible with man is possible with God.”

28 Peter said to him, “We have left all we had to follow you!”

29 “Truly I tell you,” Jesus said to them, “no one who has left home or wife or brothers or sisters or parents or children for the sake of the kingdom of God 30 will fail to receive many times as much in this age, and in the age to come eternal life.”

Now, this verse didn’t really help me with my state of hopelessness but it did help bring light to another stressor in my life.  I have to admit, I worry about not having much money in my account and will this always be the case. To me, this verse says that obtaining a certain amount of wealth is not  important as obtaining eternal life. This life is temporary. Yes, I may not be able to have the liberty to buy things on a whim but I do have the ability to pay my rent on time, eat out occassionally, and able to get to my job on time. For the most important things, I am truly blessed.

 

Keep Pushing.

 

Danielle

  1. #1 by radical7even on October 23, 2011 - 1:39 pm

    Amen! 😉 I like this one. Can’t wait to see you next week!!!

Leave a Reply

