Kelly who??

We are not our pasts. We are not what people think of us. We are God’s children.

I love Netflix. 🙂 I’ve been grading papers all afternoon/evening, and in between I can have 20 minutes of fun watching TV sitcoms on instant stream. It really breaks up the monotony.  Today I began a series called ‘Samantha Who?’, which follows the hilarious and awkward life of a woman who wakes up from an 8 day coma and has retrograde amnesia (she can’t remember her past). She slowly finds out that she led her life up until now in a hugely self-centered and thoughtless manner. Now she has to deal with the financial and social consequences of the ‘bad Sam’ while she as ‘good Sam’ tries to start a new life.

In many ways being a Christian is like this. We know that we are supposed to strive for perfection as God’s children. We also know that none of us will ever be perfect down here. God made it this way for a purpose. He has forgiven us of our sins, so He does not want us to think we ARE what we have done wrong. At the same time, we still have to deal with the consequences of our past wrongs and current tendencies. I don’t know about you but I can really relate to the plight of ‘Sam’, in that I want a fresh start–every day.

I thank you all for sticking with me as I learn from my mistakes and grow. I also love your for letting me be me when I make decisions you may or may not agree with. This is LOVE–the only perfect thing we can have here.

So… the moral of this story (by story I mean over thinking a superficial comedic sitcom), is that we are not our mistakes or tendencies. We are God’s children, and we need love to get through.

Consider this verse:

1 John 4:18 Such love has no fear, because perfect love expels all fear. If we are afraid, it is for fear of punishment, and this shows that we have not fully experienced His perfect love.

Who else is ready to experience His love fully? I think we all need to in order to put our pasts behind us. Love to all!

  1. #1 by ayoung85 on November 6, 2011 - 8:09 am

    This reminds me of one of my favorite songs, “You Are More” by Tenth Avenue North. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, you should look it up, it’s an amazing song; it’s one that makes me cry! Here is the chorus:

    But don’t you know who you are
    What has been done for you
    Yeah don’t you know who you are
    You are more than the choices that you’ve made
    You are more than the sum of your past mistakes
    You are more than the problems you create
    You’ve been remade

    …as you can see, it definitely relates to your post today! And it is so true, we ARE more than the choices that we’ve made, and more than the sum of our past mistakes…thank the good Lord! Because of him, we do get a fresh start everyday (except for those consequences)! Though we have all sinned and fall short of the glory of God, His unconditional love for us enables us to try to do better each day. Because we are forgiven, I think that God transforms the consequences of our past mistakes into something amazing, too, because it’s all in the big picture; we can’t see it, but everything works out according to His master plan.

    I really enjoy reading your posts on here Kelly, they inspire me. I just signed up on here so I could “Like” your post, so I figured since I took the time to sign up, I might as well reply. I’m glad I did, though, because now I’m subscribed to get your posts in my email!! I love and miss you, and I hope you are doing well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

