Meatloaf

I made meatloaf for dinner this evening. Have you ever taken a good look at meatloaf before you put it in the oven? Yeah- sorta gross nasty mushiness going on in the bowl right?

Let me help you with the visual. I’m not sure this is the traditional way because I put tons of stuff in there but it’s been a big hit for me. My meatloaf ingredients are: In a nice big bowl: 1lb of ground beef, one egg, half a pack of ritz crackers (or cup of breadcrumbs). And then I season it with give or take about a tablespoon each of whatever your favorite seasonings are. For me that would be some blackpepper, garlic, ½ cup onions, some Italian seasoning and salt to taste. I also put in 2 tbsp of bbq sauce and ½ cup of marinara sauce! If I have it handy I also chop up some green or red peppers and throw that in there! I told you this is a jam packed loaf. Oven at 350, set it and forget it. Ok well forget it for about an hour and then delishiousness will be yours. Homemade mash potatoes and it’s a wrap for dinner.

I am encouraging you to think of your life as meatloaf. There are many things that have to fall into place before you can “go in the oven”. I know for me things have certainly not come together in the time nor the fashion in which I imagined. I feel as though I have some of the ingredients for my “meatloaf” and not even the fabulous ones. For the last two weeks I really felt like all I had was a bowl and a raw egg! But we have to be patient on the Lord and wait expectedly for things to fall into place. The rest of the ingredients are on its way. The thing about meatloaf is it takes a while to cook but the aroma that fills the kitchen makes it so worthwhile and as with any well prepared meal when you savor the first bite it doesn’t matter how long you were in the kitchen or if the clean up process took forever, the first bite when it is completed is worth the hassle. God is on time. You definitely won’t go in the oven too soon nor will you be left in there a moment longer than you need to be.

The bible says in Phillipians 1:6 “ being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” This shows us that God intends for you to be a finished product with all the ingredients molded into perfection. This is a process filled with sweet, salty and sometimes bitter ingredients but when they all mix together the result is tasty!

Praying to dine with each and every one of you. It’s smelling good from here.

One day at a time,

Gem

  1. #1 by Kelly Diane Cromer on November 14, 2011 - 3:27 pm

    Yummy recipe for meatloaf and for life lol! 😀 Mine is jam packed too. I usually put ketchup all over the top and let it cook like that for the last 10 or 15 minutes. It tastes soooo good.

  2. #2 by radical7even on November 14, 2011 - 8:05 pm

    lol…Gem you have the best metaphors. I love it. It definitely puts life’s trials and tribulations in perspective.

    Danielle

  3. #3 by radical7even on November 16, 2011 - 9:38 pm

    Great metaphor! You have really amde me hungry!
    ~Audrey

Leave a Reply

