Call Me Betty Crocker- Renee`

Try something new….that is one of my goals for being a “radical” sista. What’s that mean to me..well let I explain what type of person I am. I am a recovering perfectionist. I like things to happen and be done in a certain way. and that way is perfect. I am extremely hard on myself when things don’t go according to plan..and I can actually be really sad when I miss the mark..So needless to say I don’t try things that I don’t believe I will automatically be good at. You’re probably thinking: How they heck will you know if you never try? Well let’s put it this way, there are certain things that we all are inclined to be better at. For instance if you’re an athlete if you try another sport you are probably more inclined to be good at that verses let’s say singing. You have already built up your skill set in athleticism so you wouldn’t be as worried about your performance in the sports world.

That’s how I have been my whole life. I’ve always been good at school. I’ve always made good grades, honor roll, been in honor societies so I feel comfortable in that area. BUT in order to really find out your potential you must push past how you see yourself and see yourself for how God MADE you. You have a special purpose. And sometimes walking in that purpose means that you need to push past the limitations that you have set for yourself. So you might be asking what did you do radical……. I cooked LOL yes cooking might not seem to radical to you, but I cooked for another person. LOL I usually cook very simple things breakfast foods, meatloaf, steak etc. But I wanted to try  something different,  I asked someone what they would like for me to fix and they answered grilled chicken salad. Instead of me just grilling some chicken I immediately went to the internet and started to research recipes . I came up with a grilled chicken salad topped with a peach-habernero salad dressing… I MADE a dressing 🙂 woot woot!. I had to substitute the Habanero with cayenne pepper but the truth is…it was DELISH!!! I was so super proud of me because I stepped out and tried something that I might not necessarily be “good” at. I have now been cooking up a storm. I made some stuffed shells, a key lime pie and on the schedule an italian roast, key lime cake and another something-something for Thanksgiving.  I found out that I actually enjoy cooking. It relaxes me and then when my little man smacks his lips and say “MMMMMM” that’s the best feeling in the world. Now I can add aspiring home-maker to my list of accomplishments. This little example of cooking has really inspired me to try new things and I can’t wait for the next adventure.

I would like to leave you with a cute saying from a friend on Facebook: …”keep ur fork, the best is still to come” meaning people keep their forks from dinner for the best part..dessert…so keep ur life fork because the best is still to come…

So ladies and gentleman let’s keep our forks..the best is yet to come in life & love bon appetit!!!

  

  1. #1 by inez on November 19, 2011 - 12:22 am

    looks great

  2. #2 by radical7even on November 19, 2011 - 1:32 pm

    Yum! 🙂 Cooking relaxes me too. That’s really cool that you branched out. My Aunt makes some twice baked potatoes that will knock your socks off. We can cook them together sometime. 🙂

  3. #3 by radical7even on November 19, 2011 - 1:49 pm

    That was Kelly BTW.

  4. #4 by Renee` N. Chaffin on November 20, 2011 - 12:38 am

    She made some for the wedding right??? oh yeah I wanna learn. At Inez, thanks it was actually surprisingly good.

  5. #5 by radical7even on November 22, 2011 - 3:30 pm

    I am so proud of you! As for someone else who “doesn’t” cook, you made a huge step! Yay for you!
    ~Audrey

  6. #6 by Renee N. Chaffin on November 22, 2011 - 5:54 pm

    thanks 🙂 I am trying to do more things..and have been cooking up a storm. Next girl’s night I would def like to cook.

Leave a Reply

