Yes, I am pregnant…. *~Kelly~*

 

This is the real deal. There is no witty punch line in the following text. My lovely girlfriends (Bey, D, Renee, Audrey, V, Pam, Kim) and I agreed to share our journeys honestly in this blog for 7 years. In all honesty, I am most assuredly ‘with child’. It was only a couple of days ago that I was able to hear the little heartbeat of my baby. It was surreal. I don’t know how to describe it. When I heard that heartbeat it split my life in two. There is the part of my life that occurred before that moment, and the part that is happening now.

I’m not going to lie, the first couple of weeks were tough. This baby was NOT a part of my plan. However, now that I have had time to settle into the idea of starting a family, there is nothing I want more. Nathan has been incredibly supportive. I already feel a stronger bond with him in knowing we’re going to be parents.

Needless to say, things are going to be different. Nathan and I decided through prayerful consideration to move back home to Crestview for a while. I’ll formally be taking a year leave of absence from USF. By the end of that year Nathan and I will have to decide whether to move back to Tampa or continue whatever lives we establish in Crestview. I know it seems that I am giving up a lot at USF, but this current lifestyle I’m leading is not what I want to bring a child into. Some days I barely have time to ask Nathan how his day has been, much less spend time caring for an infant. Nathan doesn’t have an abundance of time either, considering he has to work a full-time job to help out with the fair, yet inadequate funding I receive from USF.

In Crestview we have an amazing support system, there will be no need for day care, and I will be considerably closer to my Mom’s cooking. 😉 Some people do have children in grad school without slowing down and they make it just fine. That’s not me. I have my master’s degree, and that is enough for right now. I have really appreciated over the years how supportive and proud everyone has been of my ambitious pursuit of a Ph.D., but I do hope most of you will still be proud and supportive of this decision.

Well I’m sure this is quite enough news for one weekly post. Much love to all. Keep me in your prayers and I will send some up for you as well! 🙂

 

  1. #1 by radical7even on November 19, 2011 - 2:40 pm

    I’m so happy for you and Nathan. I know the Lord will take care of you and provide nothing but the best…and you never know I may be there to help too…lol Love you!!!

    ~Danielle

  2. #2 by renee on November 19, 2011 - 3:51 pm

    Im soooo excited. You being in crestview means we should be able to see you more and see the pregnancy! Uh another his baby!

  3. #3 by ayoung85 on November 19, 2011 - 9:16 pm

    OMG!!! I an so happy for you!!! When is your due date? I know it’s scary, and hard, but it is the most prescious gift that God can give you; it is a true blessing! I think you ate making the right decision. If you didn’t have your degree already, I would advise that you stay in school (because I know how hard it is to work, take classes, and be a mother-I’m just now a sophomore!), but you are doing the best thing…family love and support are the most important things when you are preggo! I love you and I’m so proud of you!!! Congratulations!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. #4 by radical7even on November 22, 2011 - 3:29 pm

    I am so proud of you for this post. I know youi’ve had to have a lot of stregnth these last few weeks. I lvoe you girl and can’t wait to meet your child! You are going to rock this mom thing!
    ~Audrey

  5. #5 by Venus on January 1, 2012 - 3:46 am

    WOO HOO TO YOU BEING PREGNANT!! CONGRATS! I’m glad that ya’ll decided to move back to Crestview to be near the family!

Leave a Reply

