Purpose at Any Age-Guest Blogger

But Jesus said, “Let the children alone, and do not hinder them from coming to Me; for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.”

New American Standard

 

I have always loved this verse. To me, it means more than just letting Children come to God. It is a statement about Age and how no matter what Age you are, you have a Purpose and God wants you to move towards fulfilling that Purpose.

The problem about Age lies not with God but with humans. We judge the majority of the young to be dumb and stupid. We think that they don’t have that many talents to bring to the table. Because of this, as child you think you want to be older so you get Respect, and Responsibility. As a teen, though we’ve gotten Responsibility, we are still hoping for the Respect and Freedom. What we don’t understand is that when you get to young adult hood; you get more Responsibility, a little more Freedom but you don’t get any more Respect.

I have really been fighting against Ageism lately. I have been blessed to be put in a position of leadership in my non-profit. Both of the onsite managers at our organization are under 30 years old. We have degrees in our fields and graduated with honors. We have a variety of experience as well as pertinent certifications. But we keep hitting road blocks. Older people whop think they now better always think they know better about everything.

While Wisdom does often come with age, organizations can get stagnant without new ideas and fresh outlooks. Incoming staff bring in new ideas and plans for the company. Though I critically think creative criticism from people in the non-profit sector, I am having problems with people who have No Idea What Is Going On. They know nothing about non-profits and how they work as compared to business. These people have neither the Experience nor the specialize training I posses, but they still feel like they can tell me what to do because I am a decade and a half younger than them.

I have been asking God for the strength and wisdom to deal with these people. He has helped me be Patient yet Assertive with this group of people. He helped me see that this group is just a minority. Our Board of Directors has total faith in me and my co-workers –no matter our age. Those we serve are still getting safe and effective services. While we have the rare complaint, our surveys indicate that the majority are happy with the services offered and by whom they are offered.

I have not let these people stand in my way of serving God and the Path he has for me, though it is making my Path harder. I try to traverse these bumps with Grace and Poise and try to be the person God wants me to be. I know he put me here for a reason. And, no matter what my age, he has plans for me to do something Good.

 

Peace, Love & Prayer

Hollywould

 

Holly Weitz works for a nonprofit in central Alabama. She loves animals and spends her time enjoying a variety of water sports.

  1. #1 by Kelly Diane Cromer on December 16, 2011 - 5:14 am

    Wonderful post! Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  2. #2 by radical7even on December 19, 2011 - 9:13 pm

    Thank you for sharing! I Have often felt this issues in my work place. I pray for peace for youi!
    ~Audrey

Leave a Reply

