God’s sense of humor

Sometimes when you tell God what you don’t want, He has a way of placing you right in the middle of it. This is what I call God’s sense of humor. Quite frankly, I never find the jokes that funny… at least not in the beginning. Let me back up some so that you can understand. Right after I graduated high school, I took a retail job. I took the job because I loved designing clothes and I wanted the extra money. I had the job for a month before I quit and decided I would never work in retail again. Let me go on the record to say I am not a quitter. I had two jobs which I was working none stop. I barely had time for my family and friends, something I did value at the time, but wanting to spend time with my family and friends is not a valid excuse to not go to work. After a few weeks on the job, my Papa passed away. I felt so guilty that I did not spend as much time with him as I should have after I graduated. He was so excited I was going to college. I felt a deep sense of sorrow and guilt because I put work over the people I love that I decided I needed to leave my retail job.

Fast forward to Fall 2011. I was having a hard time finding a job. Man, I applied to every assistant, restaurant, and social service job that I thought I was qualified for and fit my interests. Yet, none offered me a position. Then, I felt the Holy Spirit move and I was prompted to apply for retail. I did not think much of it at the time when I was putting in applications. Next thing you know, I got call from an employer wanting an interview. I was like, “Lord! Are you serious right now? I hate retail! I’m not a sales person! I’m don’t want to do business! Lord, I want to cook!” Turns out, I took the retail job. lol. I was livid with God for a while to be honest. Why? Because He did not give me what I wanted. Retail requires you work odd hours (the same reason why I quit the first retail job I had). I was starting this job during the holiday season, so I have to deal with a lot of people and their attitudes (which is sometimes hard because I have a smart mouth but God’s grace is sufficient). I have to learn a lot of business math, which isn’t hard, but it takes some time to get use to it. Then on top of that, I just wanted to cook. But you know what? I realize that I probably would not survive working in a kitchen for hours at a time because being on my feet causes me extreme pain. There was so much I did not like about my job, but it was all in my perspective. This has been one heck of a year for me with so many negative things happening. I realized I started taking on a negative attitude and was not the optimistic person I use to be.

Then, this morning I decided to pray. I prayed to God to show me all the positive things about my job. Turns out, I actually like sales. I am a great sales person. I have convinced several people over the past few weeks to spend about a $100 or more in the store. It was exhilarating! I love helping customers match their accessories with an outfit they just bought. And secretly, I feel empowered when I have to pierce some of my customers ears (I was not coll with this at first and was freaked out by the fact that I had to put a hole in someone’s body). Knowing that I can provide a great shopping experience for my customers makes me like my job. I have to get over that I can’t always have my way and laugh at the fact that God is always right. I also have to realize that no job is perfect, there will be drawbacks to any job. It is really about what I am willing to sacrifice to get the job done. My family and friends are doing well and whenever they need me they know where to find me. Though I hate that I am sacrificing time with friends and family, I know I am building relationship with my costumers which means I can reach more people for Christ.

Joke: What do you get when you put a girl in a situation that could possibly bring more souls to Christ? A woman who puts away her selfish desires to pursue something bigger than herself.

Have an awesome day!

Beyondai

 

  1. #1 by Renee N. Chaffin on December 15, 2011 - 6:12 pm

    I love this blog!!! God knows what we need and when we need it. This life is constantly about being ready and able to submit to His Will for us. We have no idea who we might come in contact with once we really let Him have His way. I never imagined me living the life I currently am. I saw me jet setting, never being home, traveling here there everywhere. Then I had D, and I realize that family (for me) is more important that anything, only second to God…perspective is a powerful tool for both GOD and the enemy. It’s important to take every thought captive and really let God focus us. Thanks for sharing and love the joke 🙂

  2. #2 by Kelly Diane Cromer on December 16, 2011 - 4:59 am

    Yea, what Renee said lol. It is an ironic life we are each living. I am now finally embracing my love for being around family after fighting it and staying away for so long. It feels good to embrace that and at the same time still be able to pursue my career. It is just funny that the circumstance (pregnancy) that brought me back to what I really want out of life, was also the circumstance I NEVER wanted to be in lol.

  3. #3 by Audrey on December 16, 2011 - 8:04 pm

    I love this post. When I worked at Panera, it truly took sometime to realize that people do value those in retail or service. I am so proud of youi and all that you learned!

  4. #4 by gem on December 17, 2011 - 1:02 am

    Love the post. I think we are all singing the same tune. I never imagined I’d be where I am now. I thought I would be married with a kid and planning for another!! Uh…negative. God’s plans are surely bigger and better than what we can even begin to dream of. He knows best each and everytime and even in the tough times he still knows why the test is important. When he promotes us and we step into his will, we can always look back and say “oooooh I get it now”

Leave a Reply

