Listen -Kelly

I am blessed, incredibly and inexplicably blessed, with a wonderful husband that truly cherishes and understands me. The contrast between my life with Nathan and the sad caricatures of relationships I previously experienced are as different as could be. Many of you know I was engaged previously, but a lot of people don’t know that I narrowly escaped a hopelessly miserable and unhealthy relationship with a very controlling and jealous little boy masquerading as a man. Sometimes when I’m looking at Nathan I just thank God for letting me meet this man who showed me what love is supposed to feel like. My relationship with Nathan is a reflection–albeit imperfect–of the perfect love God has always given me. In the spirit of those moments I wrote a little poem to get it off my chest. It feels great to express strong feelings and for me the best method of expression is to write. I did not spend a lot of time on this. It’s more like a sketch of a poem. I just wanted to get it out and also to make up for the blog I did not post last Saturday. Between school ending and sorting out my move, I lost track of time. This mid-week post and another this weekend is the best I can do now. Hopefully my next blog will contain news on how my job interview goes Friday. 🙂 In the time being, here is a little piece of me….

he valued the external qualities I perfected for public display

I hid behind what he wanted to see

He loved me through and through like no other had or could

I put all effort toward the superficial

he took all I could give and was not satisfied

I tried to be more of what he wanted

He gave me eternal gifts that I readily accepted

I was not satisfied

he told me without words that I was not good enough

silently I agreed

He told me I was His delight

I asked Him why He would not take away my misery

listen to the One who really cares

  1. #1 by radical7even on December 16, 2011 - 12:08 pm

    This so touched my heart. You deserve wonderful change. I thank God He sent nathan as well

  2. #2 by Renee N. Chaffin on December 16, 2011 - 3:29 pm

    Sorry I posted that comment above LOL

  3. #3 by Kelly Diane Cromer on December 16, 2011 - 5:38 pm

    Thanks Renee! 😀

  4. #4 by radical7even on December 16, 2011 - 6:26 pm

    This is beautiful Kelly. I am so happy that God brought you two together. His love shines throught the love you share with each other-Gem

  5. #5 by Audrey on December 16, 2011 - 8:05 pm

    Loved it! Thank you so much for sharing and being mushy!

Leave a Reply

