Pam and the Holiday Stress

The holidays are upon us again. I look forward to this joyous time and then when it is here what do I feel? STRESS! Not happiness, peace, awe…. It is not that I do not understand what we are celebrating. It’s just that the holiday is full of schedules and preparations that I cannot seem to accomplish. I got 3 Christmas cards and only 1 gift in the mail. I intended to send 40 cards and 3 gifts out. I still have one gift to buy tomorrow. We also have 2 relatives spending Christmas in the hospital. My life as a mom of 8 is busy and I seem to miss out on everything. It seems like I only do work all the time and people forget I am even here for anything else. I give up a lot to be an overtime mom. I don’t regret it but I do miss being a part of events. I cannot do what I used to do to keep up relationships with members of my family. I used to have energy that I do not have anymore. I used to be more available for them. Now all I can do is send a gift from time to time. It hurts that some of them do not seem to miss me. I am ashamed to even admit that. It is not okay but I have to accept how things are going to be. On the other hand I have a wonderful supportive husband and sweet children that are a constant wonder to me. Everyday I get to watch them discover the world from such an innocent standpoint. Sometimes I wish I was that sheltered again. I saw a bumper sticker the other day that read, “Too blessed to be stressed”. That is cute, but how is that possible? I have never had a stress-free life and I do not know anyone who has. I do not think that it works that way even for Christians. I know God has blessed me and he will not put on me more than I can bear. I know he helps me through hard times. In the past, when horrible things were happening to me, I grew,I learned, I became stronger. So I have to reason that some amount of stress is necessary. Right now I just wish it was a little less stress. I wish I was valued a bit more by the people I love. I wish I had another week to get ready before Christmas. Stressed or not, I am going to make time to read the real story of Christmas with my children this year. God bless you and your families as you celebrate the greatest Christmas gift of all.

  1. #1 by gem on December 29, 2011 - 7:56 am

    Pam I pray you had a great Christmas with minimal stress. You are most definitely a superwoman. I know God’s grace lends itself to you being the awesome wonder woman you are. Much love to you!

  2. #2 by Venus on January 1, 2012 - 3:44 am

    Wow, seems like you are under a lot of stress! You do a lot! All you can do is your best, Pam. You do what you can do! You never know, some of your family members might miss you and don’t know how to express it! I hope that your Christmas was well and that your stress level has went down! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

