Going Against the Grain-Renee’

I had an interesting debate today with one of my most favorite people in the world. It started out talking about one of my new passions which is childhood cancer, I am in the midst of putting together a benefit for the cause. I have three main goals:1. Raise awareness of being a bone marrow donor 2. Register people to become donors and 3. Raise funds. While explaining my goals the person started talking about bone marrow donation and the pain associated with donating. I began talking about the newer procedure which is very similar to blood donation and how all you would need to do is take a series of shots and the marrow would come into the blood stream and they would collect the marrow just like donating blood.thislead to a counter argument about the safety of the marrow being in the blood and what that could mean for my health later. I stated that everything has risks…and I would much rather take the risk of helping someone else than not. Anything could happen..certain illnesses run in families. I’m not claiming any of those for myself BUT its always a possibility that those could pop up in my lifetime. Then taking care of my son was brought up. What if the risks would interfere with my ability to properly care for him like what if the procedure incapacitated me..left me out of work etc etc. All I could say is if it were me I would want someone to do ALL the could to help my baby. When I think of donation..all I see is Starla and her smile underneath her now balding hair..fighting for her life. If I were her mother I would pray that someone would be willing to atleast try. This entire conversation made me really stop to think most people might not take the risk to help someone else if it would cost them. Don’t get me wrong I’ve done the research and as far as I can tell risk is minimal with the blood transfusion procedure for donation. But with everything there’s a risk. I know that’s what the person was saying..but I was puzzled. In the African American community there’s a desperate need for donors, not just for bone marrow but pretty much for anything. How do we address this shortage? Someone has to take the risk. True alturastic personalities are rare. Jesus,Martin Luther King, Malcom X, Mother Theresa, joan of arc etc. They all thought their cause, their passion was bigger than themselves..and were willing to sacrifice unto death for their ideals. But its a rarity. I have always been so passionate about so many things. When I was 4 years old I came home from daycare covered in blood because I used my tshirt to help a friends nose stop bleeding. It freaked my mother out! To say the least, but I never thought about myself I really just wanted to help. And that has carried into my adult years. Its why I feel drawn to non profit. I never understand why some have soooo much and some have barely enough to survive. It seems so unfair and I question God about that quite often (which I know I shouldn’t do) but it just seems like if those with so much did even small parts for those who were in such need things would equal out. But there are those who believe ‘ive worked hard to get what I have and so should everyone’. But the truth is we all have needed help at one time or another, whether its a 20,000 loan to go to college or a neighbor who offers to watch a single mothers child while she goes to school and works…we all are in need. I say everyday that I would not be nearly as successful as a single mother if I didn’t have a team. And believe me it takes a team. From the friends who watch my son so I can take night classes. To the friends I can call when I am having an emotional day. To my mom encouraging me every step of the way. I think that’s why I feel so passionate about helping others..others have helped me. I couldn’t be who I am without God allowing people to help me. I’m surrounded by some of the most kind hearted people. They are so good to my son that I would be lost without them. In this life there are passions, ideas, dreams, hopes etc that others (who love you dearly) may never understand. It is up to us to go against the grain and be true to those beliefs inside. This is where I am at in my journey. Here’s to new life to your passions and dreams (as well as wisdom when to pull back). Balance is important in this journey.
Peace, love and passions
Renee’

  1. #1 by radical7even on December 27, 2011 - 6:11 pm

    Beautiful Renee. Yoru passion for yoru cause really moves me. I am so proud of you for your desire to help others!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Renee N. Chaffin on December 28, 2011 - 8:10 pm

    thanks hun! I am just getting to the point where I understand what that means (follow your passions they will make a way for you)

  3. #3 by radical7even on December 29, 2011 - 12:48 am

    I’m moved as well. 🙂 I admire and agree with you. -Kelly

  4. #4 by gem on December 29, 2011 - 7:52 am

    I am with the girls. You have to follow your passions. God will guide you with any dream that he places in your heart. Go Renee!

  5. #5 by Venus on January 1, 2012 - 3:21 am

    Hey Nee!! I’m glad you did your research on donating bone marrow! I agree that we all need to help each other! I’m glad you’re passionate about childhood cancer!

Leave a Reply

