This Christmas

When I was younger, I used to base my Christmas experiences as being good or bad by the amount and/or quality of presents that I got. When I was younger, one of my best Christmas was when I got a boombox and one of my worst Christmas experiences, was when I was in the sixth grade and I was homeschooled because of my leg operation so not only did I see what everyone else got for Christmas, I also saw my gifts..not fun. However, I’ve grown older and learned more about the real reason behind Christmas, I look less at what I get and more about how I can give to back. It’s the little things.

This Christmas was extremely special this year because one of my best friends Renee gave the best present ever. She not only took me to my mom’s house so that I could spend time with my family but she also stayed with us and allowed my niece and godson to interact together and I got to spend time with her family . My godson and his mom was able to interact with their extended family and it was great..Everybody loved them and they loved everybody.

This Christmas and just this year in general, I learned it’s not about the gifts, it’s about the interaction. It’s about seeing my neice have more fun chewing on her tags than playing with her toys. It was beautiful seeing my godson play with his first drum set and his mom looking all glassy eyed. It’s about the small things.

Keep Pushing.

Danielle G.

 

 

  1. #1 by radical7even on December 29, 2011 - 12:49 am

    Love you D! 🙂 -Kelly

  2. #2 by Renee N. Chaffin on December 29, 2011 - 2:51 am

    Aw! This soooo made me tear up! I’m so glad that we all went. The older I get the more I. Understand the importance of family..its really the only thing that does! This was def the best Christmas I think I’ve ever had

  3. #3 by Nicole on December 29, 2011 - 4:24 am

    I agree. I had to work while we had Alan’s family in town most of the time but I did get to make my first big Christmas feast and just having the family togetherness is always my favorite part of Christmas and his little niece was the cutest thing in the world. It would be nice to have that togetherness with the people we love more often. I know for me, my family is pretty far apart

  4. #4 by gem on December 29, 2011 - 7:51 am

    This was so sweet!

  5. #5 by Audrey on December 30, 2011 - 3:31 pm

    Too bad you guys got everyone sick! LoL I think it’s teh wrong family anyway.
    All joking aside, this is a lovely story. Being with family really makes a difference.
    ~Audrey

  6. #6 by Venus on January 1, 2012 - 3:17 am

    Hey Dani!! I’m glad you had an AWESOME Christmas!!!! That was very sweet of Nee to take you to go see your family!!!! I know you will remember this Christmas!!!

Leave a Reply

