Reflections of 2011

I ended 2011 and began my New Year with some of my best people. We laughed, got serious, and laughed some more. As I reflect on 2011 I have to say I didn’t give it my all. There were too many days to count where  I laid in the bed and literally wasted away. I’m not saying having an occasionally lazy day is not need but I did my share and then some. In all honesty, I didn’t push myself in some areas, the most important being weight loss. I can literally count the days on my hand that I did exercise. I would have times here and there where I felt like I was on the right track, but I would get  thrown off or throw myself off. In actually, in 2011, I didn’t even try at all. I would attribute my current stay in my weight to the 8 months at my old assisted living job. I was up on my feet so much that it cancelled out on the actually poundage  I should be.

Speaking of old jobs, 2011 wasn’t really kind with me in regard to  finding one where I felt the loan I am currently paying back in reflective upon. I had a conversation with a former grad friend and we were talking and she just casually mentioned how it’s almost been two years since we’ve graduated and until that moment, I hadn’t really  given that much thought.That made me sad. Yes, it is good that I haven sustained jobs in that time but it’s not good for my resume and for my ego. I went to grad school for 2 years, I accumulated more debt on the top of my undergraduate debt for the sake of wanting to make a difference in the community. That hasn’t happened  the way I had hoped. I would be lying to say If I haven’t felt down because  of this– as if somehow this directly caused by my lack of education or smarts or what have you .

This post, however, is not written for pity party purposes but merely for reflection . Coming up in my next post are things I have brewing up for 2012 to bring about change.

 

Still Pushing and you should too~~

 

Dani G.

  1. #1 by Audrey on January 3, 2012 - 4:34 pm

    I love your honest reflection! It’s a great tool to help keep on pushing! Good luck!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Venus on January 14, 2012 - 4:43 am

    Hey Dani! I’m glad you had a great new yr!! I feel you on being lazy on some things last yr!! Well this yr, you can push harder for the things you didn’t accomplish that you wanted to. You can get back on track w/ the weight loss this yr! I know you can do it! I understand what it feels like to be in debt..I hate paying Sallie Mae every month!! lol!! I’m as well hoping to see the pay off of my degree..Right now, I don’t see it! lol!! Anyway keep pushing for your goals! Love ya! ~Venus

  3. #3 by radical7even on January 15, 2012 - 3:53 am

    I love your honesty. You are still going to do great things! Remember in cartoons how they run in place for a minute before they really take off? That’s you girl!!!! 😀 Remember you still have options and FL is just one of them. You will bless others no matter where you are. Love you mucho!

    -Kelly

Leave a Reply

