Miracles in the Dirt with Pam

     So it is a new year, but our Radical 7even resolutions started months ago. I got bad news from my doctor that I cannot give blood as I had planned. I will have to focus on the other goals instead and I think I am doing pretty good so far. I am especially spending more energy in my garden. Thank God that I live in Florida where you can even grow things in the winter. My kids and I planted 10 trees last weekend and onions and garlic are growing in some raised beds. I also have an orange tree that looks pretty happy. My other bushes and vines are sort of grumbling through the colder temps. So am I. I always say,” I was not made for the cold. I am made for the summer time.” It really never gets too hot for me. I love the triple digit days and the sunshine. I do everything I can to be outdoors in the summer. Grilling, kayaking, boating, camping, swimming, and especially gardening!

      If you know a gardener, then you should know to call it soil instead of dirt. Dirt is a dirty word in garden land. Also it does not encompass the awesomeness of the fact that soil is actually alive just like us. There is a whole mysterious world down there that you’re never really aware of from our human perspective. Millions of miracles occur in your backyard everyday in this soil. A seed is a miracle in capsule form. They are everywhere. On your shoes, floating through the breeze, and the privileged few that are store bought earning them more respect. I am hopelessly addicted to gardening from seed. I harvest them at the end of the growing season to start all over again. Why is it so rewarding? Not for the physical beauty. I rarely plant ornamentals. For the yummy veggies? That is a perk, but no again. The lovely fragrance? Well, yes in part. The real reason is to witness countless miracles. How does it work? Science tells us the processes.  Even so, no one can ever explain the why or how of it enough to take away the miracle part. The faith of a mustard seed. Is it really simplified to just a process? No way. You know it will happen, no doubt, with a faith that defies reason. How that tiny capsule grows to become an organism that can turn sun radiation into physical growing, changing form….. That gets me every time. Each one will make a bunch of other little miracle capsules too. Some, like trees, will even live longer than you or I. I never feel closer to God than when I am in the garden with soil between me fingers. The next time you start doubting if God does miracles anymore, just check the bottom of your feet. You are probably standing on 3 or 4 at any given time.

  1. #1 by Michael Moore on January 5, 2012 - 3:33 am

    What a beautiful piece… Saw the following in a number of gardens in England… “One is nearer God’s heart in a garden than anywhere else on earth.” — Poem is God’s Garden by Dorothy Frances Gurney

    Some of my most treasured moments over there were in gardens…

  2. #2 by Renee N. Chaffin on January 5, 2012 - 6:30 am

    This was/is beautiful! It’s exactly what I needed! I never thought about soil in this way before, simply because I don’t garden. The last thing I grew was probably a seed in a bag in second grade. I’ve been wanting to try but afriad I would kill it. But this really intrigues me. You’ve def got a lovely way with words

  3. #3 by Audrey on January 5, 2012 - 4:22 pm

    Thank you for sharing your experience. I have never been a gardener so never truly understood.the feeling. YOu expressed it beautifully and now I truely understand!
    ~Audrey

  4. #4 by Venus on January 14, 2012 - 4:59 am

    Hey Pam! I’m glad that your garden is going well and that you got the kids involved! You gave me a new perspective about dirt! I liked how you linked that to God! AWESOME!! =)

  5. #5 by radical7even on January 15, 2012 - 4:03 am

    I love this post. I also loved how you wrote ‘dirt between me fingers’. It’s like your Irish roots came out!!! 🙂 -Kelly

Leave a Reply

