My 1st Day of Volunteering and other things! ~Venus~

Yesterday, I volunteered at the Women’s Hope Medical Clinic (WHMC). However, I had a little “bump” in the road. I had scheduled a ride from the bus the previous day (Thursday) so I could have a ride to and from the clinic for Friday.  My ride for the bus ended up getting cancelled  because I was considered as a “no show”.

Lets rewind for a second..When I called them on Thursday, (you have to call a day in advance to schedule a ride) they said that I would be picked up at my apt at 12:30p.m. I had to call them back after 3p.m.  since the guy I talked to had to schedule a bus for me to be picked up from the clinic on Friday.  He told me that I would be picked up from the clinic at 4:25p.m.

So on Friday, I went outside around 12:20p.m. so I could be out there just in case the bus came early. Well I never saw the bus.  It was after 12:40p.m. and I had to be at the clinic at 1p.m. So I called them and told them that the bus didn’t stop by. Well they told me that the bus stopped by at 12:10p.m. it waited 5 mins and since I didn’t show up, my ride was cancelled for the day. I told the woman that I talked to on the phone, that the person I talked to on Thursday, told me I would be picked up at 12:30p.m. There wasn’t anything that she could do. My ride couldn’t be rescheduled for the same day. I was so upset that my ride was cancelled!! The last thing I wanted to do was cancel on WHMC when I told them I was coming to volunteer. Luckily, one of my roommates were available to take me to the clinic. I volunteered from 1p.m. to 4p.m. I shadowed the receptionist who was also a volunteer.

The people at WHMC were very friendly and nice. They made me feel very welcomed! I think that I’m going to like being a volunteer at WHMC. I learned how to schedule appointments and the protocol for answering the phones. I was a little bit overwhelmed w/ info I read on how to be a receptionist..I was also nervous w/ it being my 1 time volunteering. I’m going back next week to shadow another volunteer receptionist. I begin my training to be a volunteer client advocate next month. =) I’m so ready to get experience in my field..I so need it!!!

Sunday, Jan. 1st, was the 1 yr anniversary of my boyfriend and I. We went out to eat and watched a movie for our anniversary. I was so glad that we spend time together since we aren’t able to see each other often.  My best friend visited me two days in a row this week and last week. =) I was so happy that she visited me. I don’t get to see her that often either. Today, some of my HIS visited me today! =) Thanks Renee, BB, Audrey, and Danielle!! I really do appreciate ya’ll coming to visit me today. Its not very often that ppl visit me. Most of the time  (95% of the time) I’m by myself. . So when ppl visit me, I cherish those moments! I be happy when I do get visitors! I go back to work tomorrow (I been out of work for a month) and I’m not too thrilled..lol. Anyway God bless!!! ~Venus~

  1. #1 by radical7even on January 15, 2012 - 4:08 am

    That’s so cool that you have a volunteer position where you can learn about your field and that the girls visited you. I wish I could have visited you too! 😀

  2. #2 by radical7even on January 15, 2012 - 4:09 am

    This is Kels btw!

  3. #3 by radical7even on January 16, 2012 - 3:22 pm

    Heyy hun! Keep us updated on the volunteering, what ur learning/feeling. I know it can be hard to be away from everyone. We are tying to keep everyone connected! Anywho congrads on stepping out of ur comfort zone

  4. #4 by Venus on January 21, 2012 - 7:12 am

    Thanks Kels!!! I wish you could had visit as well..I haven’t seen you since your wedding! Thanks to the 2nd person who commented..Idk who you are…lol…I will keep ya’ll updated. Yes, this is way out of comfort but I’ve been getting comfortable at the clinic, =) It sucks not living near my friends!

Leave a Reply

