People I Have Wanted to Strangle ~*~Kelly~*~

First of all, I want to apologize for dropping the ball on my posting. This is going to sound really lame and predictable, but I have been super busy with training. I’ve also been walking and doing yoga every day. Keeping up with that has me sleeping all through the night like I run a marathon each day. 😛

So the topic I want to talk about today is mainly leaving negativity in the past. This year the HIS girls did an exercise where we thought of what we want to leave behind this year. One of mine was that I want to be more positive and leave negativity in the past. Today I was challenged in a RADICAL manner lol.

We all know there are ignorant people in the world and we’re bound to encounter them at some point. Sometimes we run into these people at regular intervals. The reality is that when people don’t understand your situation, they will judge you and say insensitive, obnoxious, and rude things to you. Someone did this to me today. While I could focus on what they said and turn this blog into a negative rant, I’m going to focus on the positive.

Two positive things are that 1) the person who said this insensitive thing apologized, and 2) I was able to successfully pray myself through my overwhelming anger and accept that apology immediately and with thanks.

This situation still left me with hurt feelings; I’m only human. In an effort to be more positive, I decided to think this through in a mature way. These are my conclusions. First of all, WE ALL SAY STUPID THINGS. I have, you have, and so has YO MOMMA. Just playing, but you know what I mean. We all have said rude things (some we know and some we are unaware of). Apologizing is your best tool in mending relationships and helping the other person forgive you and put the situation out of their minds in the future.

If I have said anything to hurt anyone’s feeling who reads this–I am genuinely sorry. If you have said anything stupid knowingly or unknowingly that offended me, know that I have forgiven you and am putting it in the past.

To finish up my positive process I prayed for forgiveness, the ability to forgive, peace, and understanding. I prayed over and over on my way home. When I was finished, I felt like a weight had been lifted.

I wanted to share my afternoon’s events just to illustrate that it is HARD work at first to turn your negative thought patterns into positive ones. I am thankful for a great spiritual relationship with my perfect Savior to overcome my human imperfections (or get through them at least). If you need any help with overcoming negativity or if that’s a goal of yours as well I’d be happy to discuss techniques with you that I am using. We’re all on separate journeys here on this complicated ball of dirt we call home. Any help we can give/receive is a blessing.

Much love to all!

-Kels

  1. #1 by Venus on January 14, 2012 - 5:10 am

    Hey Kels!! Kudos to you on your new journey to positive thinking! I used to be so positive and optimistic about things but lately, I have been the opposite. I know that I have to renew my mind and dwell more on God’s word! I’m glad you turned you blog into something positive! =)

  2. #2 by radical7even on January 16, 2012 - 3:19 pm

    Pregnancy a private/public dichotomy that always breeds controversy. I applaud you in an awesome birthing plan. That’s always important. I hope it does go as planned, but pregnancy and birthing is something that can go either way at times. Praying for a beautiful pregnancy and uncomplicated and safe birth. It will def change ur whole life view lol. Its an amazing blessing to bring life into this world 🙂 I know ur going to be an amazing mom. You’re already planning to bring her(or him) into the world in the most natural way possible. I hope I’m able to be there! Love u girl -Renee’

  3. #3 by radical7even on January 16, 2012 - 4:29 pm

    Godo job with turning negitive into positivie. I understand that it is hard to leave that behind sometimes. I applaud yoru efforts!
    ~Audrey

Leave a Reply

