Beauty is her name~ Renee`

 

How do you define beauty? Is it a certain weight zone, a breast-to-hip ratio (36-24-36), the long flowing mane, the pouty lips, tanned skin, latest outfits?? How do you define beauty? I want you to take some time to really ponder that question, its ok I’ll wait *jeopardy music*

Now that you have your answer, next question: are you beautiful? For many women this is the question they search their entire lives to answer. I will be beautiful if I lose that extra 20 pounds, or buy that new hair (hey I’m all about wigs, weaves and hair-do flangies), or if I can learn how to do that smokey eye just right! I have (and at times) am so guilty of looking on the outside and trying to “dress to impress”. Now, getting fancy and pampering yourself should be on every woman’s to do list, but not to the point where it becomes an obsession. When we obsess about ourselves we are telling God that: “hey I know you made these beautiful mountains, and seas that have a depth man has yet to explore, but that pimple..Yeah the one smack dab in the middle of my forehead..that’s completely throwing my beauty-to-beast ratio into the negative here.”

God says in His Word: Psalm 139:14 “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”. I have made it a point the last 21 days to listen to only praise and worship music. On the way to and from work my son and I just sing (probably off-key and obnoxiously loud LOL) to God. I recently started back listening to secular music and I could feel my sprit change. All the songs singing took my focus off of God and placed it smack dab on me (now to say I will never listen or even enjoy some secular music is a bit much, but I will be more cautious and aware how it affects my thinking). And with that I could feel a spirit of comparison come on me. I don’t have (insert whatever here) BUT I do have (blah blah blah). The world has you look at everyone as competition. I must at all cost destroy you to get to where I need to be. But that is opposite from God’s Word. Joseph’s brothers threw him into a pit! They were going to kill him, but God had a plan for his life. He went from favored son to pit to slave to prisoner to head prisoner to second in command over all of Egypt. His brothers thought they were setting him up for failure..when in fact it was for a bigger blessing not just for Joseph’s family, but an entire nation(Genesis 37, 39,40). No one on this planet can stop God from moving, except you. Your beliefs about yourself (doubt) will block what He has for you……

When I take my eyes off of me and see what a wonderful God I serve I can’t help but think He is a God that makes no mistakes. He knew exactly how tall to make me, what color my eyes and skin needed to be. In fact, I am a hand-crafted one of a kind artifact. There are a million women named Renee` but none of them have this exact chemistry, none can do what I was placed here on this Earth to do. That special assignment, it has my name on it. Carved into it, etched into the fabric of eternity. Wow, have you ever looked at your life like that. The World would have you think that you only matter if you have labels on your back, the newest car off the lot and a house so big you would get lost just going from the front of the house to the back.

If you are able to read this post..it means you have eyes that can see. There are people born into the world living in perpetual darkness..never knowing what the sun looks like, or that their first born child has the same dimpled checks as them. That’s a blessing. Do you have two arms? Two legs? Can you hug a loved one, play catch with a child? Those are all beautiful moments that noteveryone is blessed to see. God is Love. When You let His Love and His View dominate your mindset..you can’t help but feel beautiful just the way you are. While you are on that journey to lose weight, or learn that new makeup technique remember to enjoy that journey..it’s one that only you will ever understand. Respect your place on this planet..you are needed here..right. now. This very minute. God needs you to do something. Don’t allow your insecurities stop God from working through you J

 

Maybe She’s Born With It,

Renee`

  1. #1 by radical7even on January 20, 2012 - 10:59 pm

    Great post! Very though provoking!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Renee` N. Chaffin on January 23, 2012 - 3:29 pm

    SO..i responded to this on my phone like days ago..and the darn thing didn’t post!! ugh. But i have been really focusing on God’s Love for me and what He would have me do with my life..thought I’d share 🙂

Leave a Reply

