Work from a spiritual standpoint… ~*Kelly*~

For the past few weeks I’ve been devoting more time to my prayer life. I’ve been focusing on the people in my life and praying for them to grow stronger in their relationships with God, and find peace in their lives. I’m just going to focus on my HIS girls for this blog to keep it Radical 7even related. I realized that all of us are career-oriented. I guess this could be due to the fact that we met in college, but I still think it’s a unique bond that we have. That being said, we all are at different stages in our careers.

Some of us (and I am luckily among them) are at a happy, fulfilled place in our work lives. Granted I’m just starting out, but so far I feel like I’m definitely in the right place. I’ve been working for about 10 years now. It’s taken me this long to find a job I feel fulfilled in.

So what is the point of working the jobs we hate during the times we have to?

From a spiritual standpoint, it’s not about the money, the resume boosters, or the personal satisfaction even. We need to spread God’s love and work as if we’re working for Him. The world will see God’s love and His power to heal our hearts, ONLY if we show it to them. This is why I am highly skeptical when I hear people pray for millions or hear ministers preach that if you believe ‘enough’ God will bless you with your dream house/job/bank account. We are to go out into ALL the world to show God’s love. We would be missing out on ministering to a lot of people if all Christians were suddenly catapulted into the top socioeconomic rung. Your dead end job CAN be your ministry if you let yourself serve others. It’s hard when you’re not getting the pay or respect you deserve. However, if you look with your ‘spiritual eyes’ you can transcend the material situation and view your job as a platform for your personal ministry.

This is what I was contemplating this week while in prayer. I started thinking about Joseph’s story in the Bible. He was sold into slavery by his very own siblings, but he worked even that awful position–without pay–to the best of his ability as if he were working for God. God did eventually bless him with the second highest position of authority in Egypt. However, even if he had been promoted only to being say a merchant, he is still a blessing and blessed for having the spiritual foresight to live his whole life, even his work life, as a ministry.

I have by no means lived my whole work life in this spiritual manner. I’ve been a disgruntled, ungrateful and ineffective in many of my days of work over the years. 🙂 I just hope that by sharing this work-related epiphany someone will benefit from reading it–whether they have a dream job or ‘just a job’.

Much love until next time!

-Kelly

  1. #1 by Renee` N. Chaffin on January 23, 2012 - 3:34 pm

    Hey love! I am always amazed at how God does things..and His timing. I too am at this point. I remember when I signed up to be a VISTA, I had a friend say:”why in the world would you go to school for four years and then live purposely poor”. My only response is: “It’s not about the money for me.” Don’t get me wrong I love nice things and I am grateful for a better paying position now. But those days of lack are not so far behind that I can’t appreciate all I learned during those times. When we seek His Kingdom all things will be added to us…whatever that maybe. All I have ever wanted to do was help people.I never knew what job title or description that would hold..but I am glad that as I’ve kept my hand in His, He has def guided me through 🙂 Glad your feeling fulfilled.

  2. #2 by Kelly Diane Cromer on January 28, 2012 - 12:05 am

    That is a beautiful visual of us keeping our hands in His. It reminds me of how we are supposed to come to Him as children. Beautiful… 🙂

Leave a Reply

