**Starbucks House of Worship ** by Pam

It has been a rough two weeks. I have just realized that I have been naughty. Yes and I am guilty and ready to confess. There is a reason that trouble is all over me. I finally had that “aha” moment. It was a total rookie mistake. The biggest ones always seem to be. I need this written down so that I don’t do it again. As you can guess from the title, coffee (Starbucks particularly) is something I love. Why not? It smells and tastes so good. It is warm, comforting, and makes me forget that I live on 5 hours of sleep per night. Any busy persons favorite addiction right?

Here is the confession. Whan things get difficult where am I supposed to turn? That should not be a question. I am a Christian. Did I go to my church family, my pastor, my Bible or that women’s Bible study that I got invited to? How about some serious prayer time? No. Why? I am too busy cleaning up messes and fixing problems. When I needed strength, energy, and a clear head, I turned to coffee. Really? Why would I do that? I have gotten through impossible situations before by leaning on God. His strength, his power, his wisdom is what makes it into a possible situation. Pride might be the reason that I wanted to think I could do this only aided by coffee. That is really not going to work and what kind of example does that set for my kiddos? I remember my mom going to God in prayer when things got bad. I remember her searching in that well worn Bible until she found what she needed. I need to do that. So it is time to take a good look at what I am doing here.

Goal 1-Treat my body better- Not doing that am I? No sleep, unhealthy diet, stress.

Goal 2-Prayerful meditation and Scripture- Only what I have read on Facebook and the morning prayer with my kids on their way to school.

Goal 3-Give blood- That one was not my fault actually. My doctor gave me the thumbs down on that.

Goal 4-Writing letters to my spiritual mentors from my past- One so far.

Goal 5- Becoming responsible to nature- The garden is coming along nicely. The recycling is not. I have neglected that and used a lot of disposables as a time saver. Not good.

Goal 6-Carpentry basics 101- I have about half of the supplies and cleared the space for my project.

Goal 7-Social time- I have not found time for the closest people in my life and that is part of the reason I am so far gone now. I need those people to check me on things and  give me encouragement and purpose.

Now it is time to lay my problems at God’s feet and say,”Help me! I cannot do this on my own.” My God will see me through this, not Starbucks. Readers, I hope you have a very blessed week full of God’s strength and peace.                                                                                                                                       Pam

  1. #1 by Renee` N. Chaffin on January 26, 2012 - 4:35 pm

    I am a huge fan of yours! We all are guilty (esp moms) and esp perfectionist moms of pushing things to the very edge of collapse. I know there are nights when I am so tired and I feel guilty for not reading to Daniel. Or not doing all the laundry or whatever task I have given myself. The main issue is ME giving ME directives. Instead of asking God to prioritize my day. I applaud and admire all your efforts 🙂

  2. #2 by radical7even on January 27, 2012 - 3:43 pm

    So proud of your goals that you are accomplishing. I have no doubt as you start to take the others to God you will continue to move forward with those goals as well! Lots of love and prayers to you!
    ~Audrey

  3. #3 by Kelly Diane Cromer on January 28, 2012 - 12:04 am

    You are amazing. How about a little coffee and add an extra shot of spirituality with that? Lol, I know what you mean though. The drive I’ve been having to Pensacola has made me slow down and I use it to pray now most of the time. It has helped me TREMENDOUSLY with staying peaceful, patient, and discerning during this training and pregnancy. Prayer is a powerful blessing. It’s amazing that God will always listen, ALWAYS. It’s a beautiful thing. Maybe next time go to Starbucks and then pray your whole way through the latte. ;D

Leave a Reply

