The Assumption Game~Audrey

Recently, I put in an application to be an advocate with the National Kidney Foundation. For World Kidney Day (March 8), they are sponsoring a fly-in toWashingtonfor kidney patient that provides training to be a kidney advocate in the legislature. I eagerly filled out my application. For those of you who do not know, I was diagnosed with chronic kidney disease two years ago and have an avid supporting of both the National and theAlabamakidney foundation.

I am very disappointed to say that I did not receive an interview call. I knew due to funding only a handful of people would be chosen. I knew my odds were slim: I don’t physically look like I have kidney disease; I’m not on dialysis; and I would need monetary support for the flight and other costs. But I had played up my strengths: I was active in my community because I wasn’t debilitated; I represented an age group that doesn’t worry about kidney disease; my job calls for me to be an active voice and I have been to rallies and other legislative events.

I can’t help but wonder if it has anything to do with the fact I said I couldn’t afford to pay for everything. The only reason I wonder is because I also wrote that I was basically the program director. For most people, this would imply I had plenty of money. But that is not the case.

I am sure there are other people more suited for the advocate position but it brings up a point that has come up recently. People hear “Program Administrator” and know I run the day to day operation of a program and think I get paid well. The truth is I don’t. One, I work for a non-profit. And two, I work for a non profit struggling with budget issues in this economy. I don’t make the kind of money that other program directors do or even some mid-level supervisors in this area.

What I do make, though, covers my bills including my new car and the crazy insurance premiums that go with it. I am able to put some money towards my two major debt issues. In fact, I almost have one credit card paid off (the one that has all the Mustang repair bills on it; I shudder to think I’m still paying for a card I don’t own)! I am by a nature a generous person, but I hate being treated like I’m rich because of my position.

I do what I do because I love it. I have a passion for my program. While I wish I could say it wasn’t about money at all, I can’t; I have to be able to live. What it’s not about is wealth and affluence.

I will continue to push on with my job and my position that God so wonderfully granted me. I will continue to be a kidney advocate (just wait till March!) and giving to a cause that may have to give to me later in life. There is so much more to life than money, even pretend, assumed money.

  1. #1 by Kelly Diane Cromer on January 27, 2012 - 11:52 pm

    With jobs in the non-profit sector, it literally does not pay to be in it for the money lol. I’m sorry you didn’t get the advocate position that you wanted. Maybe you will in the future. 🙂 Love you!

Leave a Reply

