Workplace Mess ~Venus~

This week it seems like all I have been hearing is gossip from other co-workers..This is the kind of person I am at work–>I’m the kind of person that tries to stay away from drama or mess. I stay to myself at work. I mind my own business. I be in my own little world and don’t really listen to people conversations. I don’t disclose a lot of personal information about myself. However, people speculate or assume things about my life that isn’t true (i.e. I go out to the club and do other things that aren’t in my lifestyle).

Going back to the situation, there has been an ongoing situation going on in my workplace regarding one of my co-workers (let’s call her Mya) relationship with their boyfriend. It seems like everybody and their mama is into this girl’s business! I talk to Mya on a regular basis at work and we take lunch breaks together. I, however, don’t try to be in her business…she feels comfortable telling me what is going with her life. She comes to me first, not the other way around..On top of that, I hear other people’s business through other people (I don’t voluntarily go to other people and ask for people’s business). I’m getting to point I tired of hearing gossip and rumors..I can tell you that I have messy people at work..I try to stay away from them as much as possible..If I’m around a messy person, I’m very selective with what I say around them.

Does anyone know how to deal w/ workplace gossip?  If so please tell me!! lol!   OAS: Dani, I remember you writing about this topic a while back..God bless! ~Venus~

  1. #1 by radical7even on February 4, 2012 - 12:17 pm

    I think you are on the right track Venus. Just Continue as you are doing, by not interacting with the gossip, by not being a part of it. As always, pray. Love you girl!

    –Danielle

  2. #2 by Renee N. Chaffin on February 4, 2012 - 12:49 pm

    One thing I am sure you are doing is make sure to pray each day and esp pray when you are around the gossipy person. I also try and redirect the conversation to something more generic, like so….what did you think about the debate, or how’s class etc. If that doesn’t work try being mute. When they come with mess say, I would rather not talk about that and then don’t engage in the conversation. I did that yesterday, three coworkers were standing by my door at first the conversation was work related so I got up and talked as well. When it turned to info on another coworker I literally said: well on that note I’m going to sit back at my desk. And that’s what I did. If you can’t escape just pray for extra protection in keeping your mouth shut.

  3. #3 by Kelly Diane Cromer on February 7, 2012 - 2:06 am

    Sounds like you’re handling yourself well by not getting caught up in the gossip. It’s bad socially and spiritually. I’ll pray for you that you can keep avoiding those people that fill their mouths and unfortunately your airwaves with negativity. 😉

  4. #4 by radical7even on February 8, 2012 - 5:26 am

    I feel your frustration on this. I used to try to say positive things about co-workers around people that were prone to gossip. That did not always work but it made me feel better. That or give them something to put in thier mouth like food or candy(: Eventually they might realize that you are not engaging in the gossip and feel less comfortable gossiping in your presence. I hope they will see that you are different because you belong to God.

Leave a Reply

