High In the Sky

The last Wednesday in January, I was feeling really good. I did about 15 minutes of exercise. Overall I just had a good feeling but all of a sudden, I started feeling really dizzy and naseous. I just didn’t feel good. I had been having dizzy spells on and off but I just waved it off and they went away.I felt it was my blood pressure, only because that’s the only health problem I’ve ever really had with my weight problem. I was finally able to check my blood pressure and it was sky high. The diagram below will show you blood pressure categories.

This chart reflects blood pressure categories defined by the American Heart Association.

Blood Pressure
Category
Systolic
mm Hg (upper #)
Diastolic
mm Hg (lower #)
Normal less than 120 and less than 80
Prehypertension 120 – 139 or 80 – 89
High Blood Pressure
(Hypertension) Stage 1
140 – 159 or 90 – 99
High Blood Pressure
(Hypertension) Stage 2
160 or higher or 100 or higher
Hypertensive Crisis
(Emergency care needed)
Higher than 180 or Higher than 110

My blood pressure numbers were in the Cayenne Pepper Red category. I wasn’t freaking out as much as I should have been. I think it’s because being on medication is something that I’ve always seen with my parents so for me, it’s normal to be taking something for something. Since, currently, I don’t have any medical insurance, I went to the health department. Honestly, I had set my mind that I was going to be there all day and would write a blog about maneuvering through the system in Montgomery county, but God had other plans. The Nurse practitioner took me back and told me because of my high blood pressure status that it wasn’t anything they could do for me and that I needed to go to the emergency room because my numbers were stroke levels. That statement freaked me out. I’m 25, I don’t want a stroke.I’m just starting to really live my life. I want to travel with my girls, I want to see babies be birthed, relationships mended, and love to be developed. So, before I went I called my mom and cried and I try to cry to my mom because when I  cry, she starts to cry.

So, I headed to the emergency room and they got me back to back fairly quickly. I was poked, proded, given a pregnacy test (passed with flying colors), CT scan, EKG, and an IV. While being poked and proded, I realized this isn’t what I want, I want to be healthy, I don’t to be taking pills for this and that for the rest of my life. So, with this new knowledge. I am taking it one day at a time. I am slowing down on my consumption of fast food and things that I knowingly know has too much sodium. I am also looking at exercise and losing weight differently. I’m trying to look at it as a lifetime adventure instead of I want to be a certain size by the end of the year.

I like to play mind games with myself. So, this week and the rest of the month, I am going to challenge myself to do 15 miles a week,via walking, treadmill, and elliptical. Why 15 miles? That’s the average mils from my house to Prattville, AL which is where one of HIS will be getting married next month. It’s gives me something tangible to measure my success. I will give you a weekly success report.

Here’s to a lifetime of Health.

Keep Pushing,

Dani G.

,

  1. #1 by radical7even on February 13, 2012 - 12:21 am

    That’s a really cool goal. Scary story! 😦 You better get healthy and stay alive a long time. We need to be old together. Think of all the good jokes you can make when you’re old! People can’t even act offended lol. God told me you need to move down here and walk with ME lol. Seriously though, I’m here for you if you need support. We can log our exercise each week and post it with our Radical 7even blogs or something.

  2. #2 by radical7even on February 13, 2012 - 12:21 am

    It’s Kelly btw.

  3. #3 by Crystal on February 13, 2012 - 1:53 am

    Danielle, I wanted to cry! I am going to check on you and see if you meet your goal…each week. Remember, it’s not about losing weight quickly but about small changes to be healthier. Love you!
    -Crystal

  4. #4 by radical7even on February 13, 2012 - 4:54 am

    I agree with kels! I think God uses certain things to really get our attention. Not saying that He gives sickness but He can allow things to happen to grab our attention. I know I’m guilty of making plans but not really seeking Him on all aspects of the plan. In order for this health goal to take “shape” we must make sure we really focus in on Him andhow He can receive glory even to what the enemy meant for bad.
    Renee’

  5. #5 by radical7even on February 13, 2012 - 11:42 pm

    Prayers coming to you! I am so sorry that that happened to you. It is so very scary! I appluad your plan to get it under control and be healthy! I love you and want you around for a long time!
    ~Audrey

Leave a Reply

