Blessings of Frailty~ by Pam

I have been struggling with what to post this week. I had a set back in some of my goals the last two weeks. My youngest was in the hospital for about four days. Then I had a few days of my other kids being home sick. Then they were all back to school and within hours I was sick. I had a fever that no meds would break for over 24 hours. I was in bed for 2 days on 5 different meds. Believe me I was thankful for each one. I have bounced back just in time to start another busy week. While I was sick, my cousin was in a head-on wreck by a drunk driver. She is pregnant with twins and had mainly injuries to her leg. She is on pain meds and had to undergo surgery but she is so lucky to be here. Actually we are so lucky that she is still here. She is just a sweetheart. For those of you who do not know, drunk drivers usually fare better in wrecks than the people that they hit. Among other things it has to do with not bracing for impact and the faster traveling car taking less impact. Thank you online driver’s school for the grisley info.The drunk driver is in ICU. My cousin and her friend should have been even worse. I do not think that is a coincidence. That does not mean that God likes some people better than others. I think that means that some good will come out of it or there is a lesson left for us to learn. I don’t know what it is but God does. Our frailty is what draws us to God. It is a blessing, even if it is a painful one at times. We do not know what is good for us any more than a child is born knowing more than their parent. Our heavenly Father knows what is best even if it makes no sense to us now. I can look back and see tons of times in my life that I had no clue and God was guiding me through a maze of uncertainty. Here I am, right where I should be, and not to my own credit. We are so apt to focus on the physical or material. None of that has any real value. I am going to let my frailty inspire my prayer life. This is all just a journey leading to my very real heavenly destination.

  1. #1 by radical7even on February 13, 2012 - 6:57 pm

    Amen! I know all too well the pain of being in a drunk driving accident. I am glad your cousin is ok and I will pray for the drunk driver. we all make mistakes (even when we do things that we know have great risk). The whole thing is just sad..but God can bring glory out even in our pain. I was reading in my Trusting God devotional that in Malachi 3:3 it says He will sit as a refiner and purifier of silver…. When a silversmith wants to remove impurities he places the silver right in the hottest part of the fire (it is the only way the impurities will be burned away), but the silversmith must sit there and watch because if the silver stays too long it will be destroyed. How does the silversmith know when the purifying is done; when he can see his face in the silver! How beautiful is that. God being our refiner and although we have pain He is sitting right there watching and waiting until His face is seen in us 🙂
    -Renee`

  2. #2 by radical7even on February 13, 2012 - 11:37 pm

    I am so sorry to hear about your cousin! Giving many prayers of thanks that she is still here!
    ~Audrey

  3. #3 by radical7even on February 19, 2012 - 1:43 am

    Thank God Amy is okay. Life throws us curve balls, but trusting in God we can rest assured that He will give us peace if we’ll accept it. We just have to be child-like in accepting the peace He provides. I think it’s a thing we learn as adults to worry and not trust. Sometimes babies are born knowing things their parents have forgotten. 😉 You will make it through all of this and more because you are strong and our God is good. Love you! -Kelly

  4. #4 by radical7even on February 19, 2012 - 1:44 am

    Love the pic by the way! -Kelly

Leave a Reply

