Sate of Saneness~Audrey

san·i·ty-  /sænɪti/ noun

1. the state of being sane; soundness of mind.

2. soundness of judgment.

Origin:
1400–50; late Middle English sanite  < Latin sānitās. See sane, -ity>

Synonyms
2.  reason, rationality, sensibleness, reasonableness.

 ~www.dictionary.com

Radical 7even Goal #2

Take better care of myself. Steps includes: drink more water, east less junk food, make doctor’s appointments before my meds run out and I have to make one to refill them, learn how to handle my kidney disease.

What’s not included in the goal above is my mental health. But it’s important. Due to illness, work commitments, and personal days, I have been left alone at work with out a full time staff member for about two weeks. There have been lots of stresses at work (other co-workers, grants and accreditation) as well as other life stressors. My other ferret Ferris passed away. Like the old couples you hear about, he didn’t live even a year after Little Miss passed away. One morning I just wanted to quit, but instead I decided to take a “sanity” day. The old me would have never done this; there’s too much to do, but Radical me knew I needed to take care of my mental health as well.

I have also decided to start seeing my therapist again. She can give me the tools to help me handle the transitions in my life. It bothers me that at 29, I still need help. But I know that God wants me to me happy and has developed other wonderful “tools”, wonderful people who can help guide me on that journey.

So as of last Friday (my sanity day), my mental health is going to the top of the health goal list.

  1. #1 by radical7even on February 15, 2012 - 3:49 am

    Good for you Audrey! I am so proud of you for doing what is best for you! Much love, B!

  2. #2 by radical7even on February 19, 2012 - 1:40 am

    I cannot stress how PROUD I am of you for doing what you need to keep yourself mentally healthy. I had been in grad school so long I almost forgot–heck I forgot entirely–what that was like. You work hard and deserve breaks, therapy, chocolate, and whatever else will keep you in a good place mentally. I’m so sorry to hear about Ferris. You gave Ferris and Little Miss a great home full of love. Much love to you! -Kelly

Leave a Reply

