***Freely Give*** by Pam

I have been trying to get well for about 2 weeks now. Yesterday I even felt good enough to do lots of my garden work which had been piling up. Thankfully I am caught up on that and I really enjoyed doing all of the so called work. I never feel closer to God than when I am in the garden. That is probably the reason that I never put curtains on my bedroom window that faces the garden. It is a happy peaceful place for me. Unfortunately today I was back in bed sick with a fever. I decided to reread a book, written by my Aunt Bea in 1997, about our family history which is intertwined with the Church of God history. I was reminded of how lucky I am to come from people who had a real understanding of God’s word. My family has ended up with more preachers than I can count. I am a member of the Presbyterian faith now but I am very thankful for my Pentecostal roots. The things I witnessed as I grew up in a Pentecostal family taught me how real God’s power is in our daily lives. I don’t just believe in miracles. I expect them because I know God never stops intervening to shape His children’s lives. The reason I ended up in the Presbyterian Church was because of the way they reach out to the whole community. I was looking for a church that really interacted the way that I felt Jesus instructed us to do. Most churches do want to minister to people spiritually but He also said to feed, clothe, ect… even to the least of these. Showing that we care no matter what kind of a person you are is what I think every Christian should do. Last week I saw a FB post by a pastor about cleaning up the church as far as rooting out people that were not living right. That is not the kind of attitude I think a church should have. A church that only allows perfect people is a church that has missed the point. I want to be part of a church that says, “Hey look how imperfect we ALL are and look at the miracle God is doing in our hearts. Come as you are because you are welcome and loved no matter what problems you have.” So many people think they have to change before they can be accepted by a church. That is not right. People are changed by God’s power which should flow through every church. Who are we to make someone feel that they are unworthy of God’s love? If we do then we have failed big time. This is the verse that sums it up for me.

Matthew 10:8 ….Freely you have received, freely give.

I want to give to those around me because God has really blessed me. Having a servant’s heart is an important part of being a Christian and one of the most rewarding too. People can’t help but know that we belong to God when we really show His love to them. Have a blessed week.

  1. #1 by Michael Moore on February 19, 2012 - 4:39 am

    Well said, Pam! Thanks for such incredible words from your heart! Tis an honor to walk with you and your family in this faith journey 🙂

  2. #2 by Kelly Cromer on February 19, 2012 - 1:40 pm

    Great points! Also, Dad did most of the ‘writing’ of that book after interviewing Aunt Bea and others. 🙂 It’s cool to read about a part of our heritage with strong Christian roots. -Kelly

  3. #3 by Danielle on February 23, 2012 - 2:14 pm

    Beautiful post!

  4. #4 by Venus on March 4, 2012 - 5:16 am

    I second the motion for a beautiful post!! lol!! I’m glad you have a place (the garden) to be alone w/ God..That’s awesome! I hope that your sickness by now is gone! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

