More than Pennies in My Pocket~Audrey

“Nothing but faith to keep me warm.” ~Mandy Moore

Last Friday, I got really down and frustrated with life. I was dealing with things at work, things at home that included my brother’s latest ankle surgery and recovery, as well as the birthday of my recently, dearly departed Ferris. I was doing well coping and handling everything, until I got a call saying we were going to cancel ourMobile trip due to weather. I knew this was the best choice because I love my friends and want them to be safe. But emotional this wreaked me. It was the proverbial straw that broke the camels back.

I couldn’t shake it. A conference call with my HIS girls, a funny movie, or hanging out with my brother couldn’t make me feel better. The next day, I was still in a funk. I was in a horrible mood and short with everyone I know. The weather continued to rain and had me stressed out about driving to part of downtown I was not familiar with.  But I pushed on; knowing time with my friends would be what I needed to keep going. I put on my nice dress coat and put my directions downtown in my pocket. There was already a sheet of paper in my pocket, and I was very surprised to see what it was.

It was my ticket to the Tran Siberian Orchestra concert in December of 2010. I smiled remembering the great time my friend Renee and I had the concert. It was an amazing show and the drive allowed us to really share and bond with one another. Thinking about it really put me at peace.

All I needed was this little nudge from God. Sometimes we need big pushes or flashing signs to get what God is telling us but often a subtle nudge works just as well. Every day he gives us little reminders that we are His children and that he loves us very much. These small tokens mean big things. When I thought I didn’t have pennies in my pocket, He reminded me I had to much more. I just had to keep the faith.

The Lord will not let the godly go hungry, but he refuses to satisfy the craving of the wicked. Lazy people are soon poor; hard workers are rich.

Proverbs 10:3-4 NLT

  1. #1 by Danielle on February 23, 2012 - 2:11 pm

    So, this had me tearing up Audrey! I’m glad you were able to come out. I love you!

  2. #2 by Venus on March 4, 2012 - 5:13 am

    Hey Audrey! I’m glad that you were able to get out your “funk”. I know you’re dealing w/ a lot, but spending time w/ friends is always fun (i.e. going out to the orchestra)!! I’ll be praying for you! =) ~Venus~

Leave a Reply

