Be careful what you ask for or you may just get

So, every year it is a tradition that I give away most, if not all, my clothes after a particular season and buy new ones. I don’t know why? Maybe I thought there were people out there who really needed the clothes I had? Or it was just another excuse for me to go shopping? If I have not made it clear, I need to go to rehab to fix my addiction to retail therapy. lol. Anywho. After last winter, I gave away all my winter clothes: sweaters, long sleeve blouses, jackets, etc. Big mistake. Because this winter, (if that is what you want to call it…) I did not have the budget to go shopping when I wanted to. I had responsibilities (i.e. bills) that suddenly started knocking on my door. OMG! I am not use to this! Let’s set the record straight, I am not spoiled! It’s just very often I treat myself to nice things. What girl shouldn’t do that? I digress. So, it is around October and I notice the weather getting a bit nippy. I go to my closet to realize that I don’t have anything to cover my arms. Now, I am standing there with a dumb look of regret on my face, because I was an idiot to give away ALL my clothes. So, lesson number 1: Though the Lord says give, be reasonable in your giving. He wants us to make sure we can take care of ourselves too.

Back to the story. I am standing in front of my closet, cold… with nothing to cover my arms. I stopped and prayed. “Lord, I am sorry for being an idiot, please do not let us have a cold winter because I don’t think I would survive it. I don’t want to catch the flu or a cold. Amen.” Well, my wish came true. We did NOT have a cold winter. But like everything else, there are consequences (both good and bad) to every answer prayer. Yes, it did not get cold exposing me to the possibility of catching the flu. Instead, the fluctuations in the warm weather attacked my sinuses instead. lol!

Just wanted to provide a little laugh for your day. And if you didn’t laugh… it doesn’t matter because I did. lol! Be blessed.

The corniest joke teller,

Bey

  1. #1 by Venus on March 4, 2012 - 4:40 am

    Hey BB!!! I don’t think you’re a idiot for giving away your clothes to help someone in need. That’s selfless! If I was in your situation, I would had gave away some of my clothes, not all..lol..I hope you have a new wardrobe and I hope your sinuses clear up soon! This weather has been crazy..One day its cold, the next day its hot…It just does what it wants!! lol!!! ~Venus~

Leave a Reply

