Why are you asking all them questions? ~Venus~

On Wednesday while I was on my lunch break at work, I got asked a ton of questions..lol..I was sitting w/ 2 of my female co-workers who were also on their lunch break. Lets just say the conversation we had was very interesting. Our conversation was going well, we  had talked about hair (having natural/relaxed hair), pregnancy, and then somehow the convo turned to talking about sex..Idk how that happened b/c I definitely didn’t bring that subject up. My co-workers who are younger than me (1 of them is 21 and the other one is 19) asked me about my sex life (in which I don’t have one lol). Why they were so interested in it Idk. I guess because I’m celibate. They really looked at me like I was crazy when I told them that.

They asked me questions of a sexual nature in a crass manner.I was caught off guard by the questions that they were asking me b/c I’m not used to people asking me those type of questions especially at work. Its only a few people that I’m comfortable w/ talking about sex. I really didn’t know how to respond. When I got home, I thought of how I could of responded better to that conversation and how I could had turned the conversation around to get the God’s glory out of it..The reason why I say that is because of the story behind my celibacy.  Nov 6. 2010, I stopped having sex for good. I vowed to myself and to God that I wouldn’t have sex again until I was married.  Nov. 2010, I decided to end my friends w/ benefits relationship w/ my ex-boyfriend.  I was miserable and unhappy w/ that type of relationship.  My current boyfriend  (he was my friend at the time) and other people as well  helped me and while I was going through that situation{ Quick recap: After my ex and I broke up we became friends w/ benefits.}  From that relationship, I was broken and hurt because my ex-boyfriend began acting like a real jerk after I ended the friends w/ benefit relationship with him. I had cried out to God to help me and heal me. He did heal me and made me better.

I say all that to say this, in the conversation that I had with my co-workers, I could had declined some more of their questions they asked and could had mentioned my testimony into it. It always seem like when people ask me questions when I’m caught off guard I don’t know how to respond but when I think the situation through later on in the day, I always think of great things I could had said..lol..Anyway that’s my story, God bless!! ~Venus~

  1. #1 by Audrey on March 9, 2012 - 3:49 pm

    People randomly delving into your life can be uncomfortable. And with most conversation you can always look back and see how you could have handled it better. But I am proud you stuck by your celibacy choice and hope that they were truly interested and intrigued by an idea that isn’t the same as theirs.
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by renee n chaffin on March 10, 2012 - 3:23 am

    Woah…they were trying to get waaaay deep there. This is the problem I think has hit society, sex is no longer a private matter or discussion. Everyone feels they have the right to weigh in on someones personal choice. Who you choose to sleep with (or not) shouldn’t be pounced on like that, but I’m glad you stuck to your beliefs. When I’ve said I’m celibate I think people at first don’t believe me, but they soon learn I’m serious about this walk. I applaud your stance! And just continue to pray that the Holy Spirit will give you the right words to say when the time comes.

  3. #3 by Danielle on March 11, 2012 - 12:09 am

    Your post was definitely eyebrow rising..lol. I think we all.have those times where we have great vision hindsight.

  4. #4 by Venus on March 18, 2012 - 3:54 am

    Hey ya’ll!!! To Audrey: Yes it was very UNCOMFORTABLE!! I was like are they really asking me these type of questions..lol..Thank you for being proud of me! =) To Renee: Yes, they were way deep! lol! It seem ppl are just mesmerized by me (not trying to sound conceited)..I guess I have some type of mystery about me b/c ppl (especially at work) be trying to get into my business b/c I don’t disclose a lot of info about myself. I agree that society sure has changed especially regarding sex! Sex is so out in the open now (on tv for example). I also applaud you on your celibacy! I’ll will do that (pray for the Holy Spirit to give me the words to say). To Dani: lol!! I’m still learning how to deal w/ ppl.

Leave a Reply

