Phrase of a lifetime:febrile seziure-Renee’

When I first thought about my post this week I thought for sure I was going to mention my radical moment-I tried out for a part in a short film series (and got it praise God) but that all changed Monday at around 4:26 pm..I got the call that every parent dreads…something is wrong with your child. I was at my sons daycare in two minutes the scene that I walked upon I will never forget. There in the arms of the daycare director was my baby, my first born limp,unresponsive. Hours before when I dropped him off he was in good spirits didn’t even cry when I dropped him off. Now here he was not moving,not blinking…was he even breathing! A million thoughts rushed through my mind. I immediately ran to him and asked what happened. No one knew..one minute Daniel was playing the next he was laying out. Did he swallow something..they weren’t sure, they didn’t see him swallow anything. Should we call 9-1-1? Yes! I kept trying to pry open his mouth to see if I could see anything back there but his jaws were jammed shut and it was like prying open a shark’s mouth. I felt absolutely helpless. The director prayed outloud and all I could do was pray in my heart. When the fire rescue responders came they checked all his vitals and that’s when I was told he had a febrile seziure and how this was “common” for babies…. anyway I drove daniel to the hospital and after a million and one tests and hrs waiting his dad and I were given the diagnosis pnuemonia and the flu. After picking up daniels meds and laying in bed all I could think about was how fragile life is. True this time this was something “common” but I never thought Monday morning when I dropped daniel off that in 8hrs I would be rushing him to th ER. I now have the flu and can’t return back to work until wed..meaning I will be out of work for a week and a day. I’m antsy because I’ve never been in the house this much ever, but after the ordeal this past Monday I def enjoy my time with my little man. I thank God that he is healthy, recovering and back dancing,singing and doing all the little goofy things he does. I couldn’t (and don’t want to) imagine my life without him. Sometimes we lose focus, we worry about things that don’t matter. Jobs,clothes, homes those can all be replaced but loved ones, true loved ones are priceless. Ones that will force you to go to the doctor (my mom) have a million people praying on your behalf (HIS, my dad and mom), for people to text,call and fb you just to make sure everythings ok. I can’t even tell you how many people were praying for Daniel an entire elementary class, my church, his godgrandmother,godaunts, aunts on both sides of the family, family friends…no lie I bet over one hundred people were praying for daniel. Praying for my baby. Sometimes as a single parent you see things very one sided, its me and D, but to realize there’s so many people out there that really love you and are praying for you means a lot. The same day daniel went to the ER another little girl lost her life to pnuemonia, i’d ask that you pray for that family for God’s healing hands of mercy to be wrapped around them. My true radical moment this week was just trusting God to take care of my baby, there was nothing I could physically do, all the medicines in the world are nice but I know who the ultimate Physician is. Prayer changes all things 🙂 peace, love and trust Renee’

  1. #1 by radical7even on March 12, 2012 - 3:52 am

    Know that prayers and support are always there for you and D. I am so sorry you had to experience it, But I sure was glad to see him running around Saturday and to see you with a smile on your face. Love you both lots!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by renee n chaffin on March 15, 2012 - 3:53 am

    Thanks! I def feel and receive all the love! Thank you so much for ur support

  3. #3 by Venus on March 18, 2012 - 3:44 am

    Hey Nee!!! I hate that you had to go through that (especially Daniel). I know that had to be really scary for you, because I know I would be scared if that happened to me. I’m glad that they found out what was going w/ him and that he is still here being that the other girl you mentioned that had pneumonia had died. I’ll continue to pray for you and Daniel! Be strong! Love ya’ll! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

