The ABCs…The 123s

Before I begin my blog, I just want to thank the readers of this blog, for allowing us to come and minister through our daily interactions. I would also like to thank my HIS sisters for their endless encouragent, willingless to listen and everlasting love. Thanks is too small of a word to acknowledge what you ladies have done in my life.

Alright, on to this week’s blog. To say, job hunting after receiving my master’s degree was disgusting would be an understatement. Even before I officially graduated, I was putting out applications and cover letters with little to no response. After about six months, I begin to look for any fulltime employment to help me combat my monthly bills. I found a job at an assisted living which allowed me to pay bills but didn’t allow to look for other jobs or have much time for my loved ones. Because of radical 7even, I decided to go against the grain and actually go for a position because of the content and not the pay. I did it and for the majority of it, I hated it, not because of what I was doing but because I felt as if I had put myself in a unneccessary financial bind. However, when I really looked at my situation, I was grateful to have been able to leave the assisted living and actually do something that was beneficial to me and the community.

As I was beginning to really look at what I wanted to do with my life and how to line that up with where God wanted me to be. I was at a lost. I can be pretty simple. I just wanted a job/career that would allow me to do something meaningful for the community and allow me the income to help my family and friends, pay my bills, have some fun, and not be struggling from check to check. I decided to go back to my childhood dreams to see what that could reveal. I remember in first grade saying that I wanted to be a nurse when I grow up, then from 2nd grade to about 10th grade, I wanted to be an elementary school teacher. S/N: Ok, so when I was younger, I loved buying school supplies…I know, go figure. I loved being able to supply my friends with pencils, pens, loose-leaf paper. I started buying my own school supplies in the 3rd grade. From 10th grade on, I wanted to be a psychologist and or counselor, preferably in the school setting. That’s what I majored in : Psychology.  I loved studying human behavior, the possible reasonings behind daily decisions of the human race. Who knew I wouldn’t be able to find a job?? Not me!!

Being rejected from jobs in Montgomery really made me think that God was trying to tell me to leave. Maybe it wasn’t me that was the problem but that he was preparing for somewhere greater and that maybe it was time to take what I had learned to another state so I decided to take the chance and start to look outside of Alabama to find a work. I began to get craiglist job notifications on my phone and one random day, I got a job link for Georgia Teaching Fellows (http://georgiateachingfellows.ttrack.org). I went on the website and read about the program, which essentionally is an alternative teaching program that recruits professionals in other fields beside teaching to teach science, math, or special education. Georgia Teaching programs is actually under a bigger network which is the The New Teacher Project who is founded by Michelle Rhee (she is mentioned in the documentary “Waiting for Superman”, if you haven’t seen it, I HIGHLY recommend it,It’s on Netflix Instant) I said, why not? What would it hurt to actually apply for it? I turned my application in on February 15th, got an email inviting me to the interview event on the Feb. 20th, which was February 25th and was invited to be a fellow on February 29th. Ok, so you might have to reread that time line but because within 15 days of not knowing what I was going to be doing from week to week to actually getting recruited for one of my childhood careers. In classic Danielle fashion, I got scared, lol. I was nervous all the way through the interview event. Especially, when it came to the financial investment but then I begin to just repeat, Lord if this is really meant for me, you will make a way. I am repeating this same phrase every day.  

I would have to say that this is my ultimate step-out of on faith moment. I’m doing my best to not let my fear take away from the fact that I was rewarded for believing in God and not of what I see.

 

Keep Pushing,

Danielle

  1. #1 by radical7even on March 15, 2012 - 3:24 am

    I am so proud of you Dani! You made it out! You get to leave AL! lol. Which for those who are reading is really hard to do. On a serious note, I am so proud of your faith and where He is taking you in your life. I pray He continues to guide your footsteps through this wonderful transition!

    Bey

  2. #2 by renee n chaffin on March 15, 2012 - 3:51 am

    Loved the blog. Well worth the wait. When God begins to move it can seem so sudden esp when we haven’t seen the behind the scenes movement. I’m proud of you for taking a risk! May God continue to Shine His face upon you

  3. #3 by Nicole on March 15, 2012 - 12:59 pm

    That is so wonderful, Danielle. I’ll never forget my struggles either. God always finds a way for where we need to be and is always pushing us to to take the next step 🙂 best of luck!

  4. #4 by radical7even on March 15, 2012 - 3:54 pm

    So proud of you and your step out! You are going to be an amazing teacher!
    Love you!
    ~Audrey

  5. #5 by Venus on March 18, 2012 - 3:09 am

    Hey Dani!!! I’m so PROUD of you for stepping out on faith! I think its amazing that you really dug deep to find your purpose! Praise God for blessing you w/ this job! God is AWESOME!! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

