Fasting

Hey All!!

If you all have kept up with me, you know that I just got accepted to Georgia Teaching Fellows program and one of the first requirements is to pass the GACE (the Georgia Assessments for the Certification of Educators).  I have one part of the test March 24th ( the subjects, reading, science, math, language arts, social studies) and the second part on April 14th ( the General Curriculm for Special Education) Easier said than done :-). I’ve been doing my best in the studying department, which could be better but I am making sure that everyday I am reading over something or doing practice math problems. So, since today marks the week mark of the first testing date, I decided that I would fast. I haven’t participated in a food fast before, where you go periods of time or whole days without eating. In my mind, I always imagine I would overeat after the fast is done. I just see myself eating whole cakes..lol.

The fasts that I have participated in and will participate for this coming week is to deny myself things that I know can keep me from reaching my greatest potential. So, for the next week, I will not listen to secular music, so no Drake, no Mary J. Blige, and not even any Beyonce. I will replace that with KirK Franklin, Mary Mary, Donnie McClurkin. I will also not be watching my Netflix as much as would be regular. I just finished watching the series of “Ghost Whisperer” and is so tempted to start a new one (they have a TV series called “Luther” with the actor Idris Elba…Lord, Have Mercy), but I know me, I will watch that instead of reading/studying so I must fast from these things. I will also start and end my day with a devotional of some kind, be it a Joyce Meyer reading or Joel Osteen or an Empower Moment.

I ask that you all pray for me, anytime that I come across your mind this following week. The test has multiple choice AND essay questions. The test range from 100 to 300 with 220 being a passing number so I am definitely praying for 220+. I just ask that you pray in agreeance with me.

Also, I would love to hear about your fasting experiences.

Still Pushing,

Danielle G.

  1. #1 by gem on March 17, 2012 - 11:14 pm

    Joining you in prayer girl. I sincerely applaud you on being brave and stepping out!!

  2. #2 by Venus on March 18, 2012 - 3:01 am

    Hey Dani! I’ll be praying for you to do well on your tests!!! I’m so proud of you!!!!! I hope that your fast goes well!! I’ll also pray that God will keep you strong in your fast and that you remain focused!! Love you! ~Venus~

  3. #3 by radical7even on March 19, 2012 - 12:43 am

    Lots of prayers going to you and good luck with your fasting! You got this girl!
    Lots of love!
    ~Audrey

Leave a Reply

