Checking in, once again… Kelly

Image

I’m drained energy-wise, but emotionally am happy. 🙂 Thank God for the weekend. My job is going well so far. It takes a lot of mental energy to make sure I’m doing everything in the right order and time frame. I’m under a ton of federal statutes and state codes. I think I’ll get the hang of it before maternity leave. I can hope anyway. I’m still dealing with the pregnancy hormones for a while, so my empathy is in overdrive. Still I’m able to handle the emotional side of this position really well so far. I think that’s a good sign. If I can handle this now, then I can handle this aspect of the job period. I do get a bit frustrated with being the rookie and having to ask everyone questions to do the most basic tasks. I imagine I’ll be much more efficient with my time management after I know all of the in and outs of office life, referrals, etc. The best part is that working with families is very rewarding. The kids are great. I knew that would be rewarding. It’s actually really awesome working with the parents as well. Some people just make bad decisions because they don’t see how to get their lives on track. A little understanding and assistance backed up with legal consequences goes a long way.

I basically only have two parts of my life now: work and pregnancy. 🙂 The pregnancy part is going well. I am getting a bit impatient. I’m ready to feel the bigger kicks, give birth, and meet my baby. The baby needs more time though. Next week he/she should start mimicking breathing with the amniotic fluid to strengthen the little lungs. I have tons of these facts floating around in my mind. I just can’t wait to meet the second person that will change my life forever. Nathan was the first and he is being incredibly supportive.

That all being said, I thank God each day for being blessed in both of these life areas, as well as others. If I can’t find time to do anything else, I take the time to thank Him. I also pray for my friends, family, all parties involved in my cases, and for people who need prayer (through self-requests or those of others). I haven’t been spending the amount of time in prayer that I was when I had all those long drives to Pensacola and back, but I’m keeping up somewhat. I am definitely trying to find time for everything in my life now. It’s hard, but again, thank God for the weekend.

Now I bid you adieu to relax with some reading before I go to sleep. I’m on the final Lord of the Rings book now. I love it. 🙂 Much love to all my lovelies reading this blog!

Yours truly,

Kelly

  1. #1 by Meggy-Kate on March 18, 2012 - 3:17 am

    you’re such a doll and will make a wonderful mother and already you’re changing lives through your job for the better! you’re an inspiration! one question though: when will we know if its a boy or girl? crossing fingers for the latter BUT having helped raise a little brother, i know boys are a gift too! so excited for both of you hun! you’re in my thoughts and prayers every day!

  2. #2 by Venus on March 18, 2012 - 3:30 am

    Hey Kels! I’m glad the job is going well and that you like it!! I understand what you’re going through w/ being the “rookie”. I’ve been volunteering for almost 3 months now and I still have to ask a lot of questions especially since I’m training to be a client advocate. Hang in there at your job, it always hard to get the hang of something when you’re new but you’ll get there and you’ll be a pro!! WOO HOO to the pregnancy going well!! The baby is still growing, so you’ll eventually get to point when your baby is kicking and doing the things you wish for him or her to do. =) Love you!

  3. #3 by Danielle on March 18, 2012 - 6:56 pm

    I think pregnancy has made you more beautiful..and by the time the baby comes you will a pro at your job, maybe even giving other people pointers!! XOXO

Leave a Reply

