In Its Natural State

Hair. Our Crowning Glory. It comes in many textures, colors, varieties, shapes and sizes. In the African American community, the hair talks currently involves moving away from using relaxers and wearing hair in its natural state. I, Danielle, have decided to go back to my roots per se (hehe). I’ve only had a relaxer for about 7 years, I was natural until my senior year in high school. My oldest sister put a relaxer in and Iwas so excited. I think I saw rainbows and unicorns. I went to college and my first roommate and best friend Trice started doing my hair and she really transformed my hair and showed me the greatness of a relaxer–The Rollerwrap.

As much as I have enjoyed my relaxer experience, I’ve always dealt with a major downfall– I was dependent on  someone doing my hair. This is one of the major reasons, I’ve decided to forgo using relaxers. I wanted to start being more indenpendent when it comes to doing my own hair. I’m not saying that I don’t want anyone else in my hair; I just want to be able to know that I can.

How is this related to my walk with Christ, you may ask? There have been so many times in my life that I’ve been afraid to venture, already seeing the mistakes before I even make the first step. Going natural has allowed me to make mistakes (hair gone awry, wearing a beanie to cover up…  lol), but trying again, hoping that the next time will be a success. That’s what our walk with Christ is all about– Going through trials and errors even failures sometimes but refusing to give up. I’m not sure if I will continue on this natural hair journey but if nothing  else, I can say I tried and I put my best hair forward. :-).

On the subject of trying again,  I wanted to share a recipe for camp stew. The first time I had camp stew, was when I worked at the assisted living facility. It is so delicious. It has a sweet tangy taste and it’s very quick to make.

Camp Stew (Yields 6 servings)

1.5 cup frozen whole Kernel corn

1 cup chicken stock (Such as Swanson)

2 Tablespoons white vinegar

1 tablespoon light brown sugar

1 can of tomato soup/sauce

1 (14.5 oz) no salt-added diced tomatoes

1 (15.25 oz) medium size green lima beans, rinsed & drained

2 teaspoons of hot sauce (optional)

2 Chicken breasts (cooked and shredded)–put whatever seasons you would like, I used Lawry’s Nature Seasonsings

Prep

1. Combine first 7 ingredients and hot sauce if desired, in a large Dutch oven or pot. Cover and bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer for 6 minutes.

2. While soup simmers, shred chicken to measure 3.5 cups; add chicken to soup. Cook for 3 minutes.

Still Pushing,

Danielle G.

  1. #1 by Renee N. Chaffin on March 27, 2012 - 6:14 pm

    Loving the picture hun! Embracing our true self I think is one of the greatest gifts we give to God, because He made us…every bit of us He is proud of, so when we get in agreement with Him, that everything He made is good..wonderful things begin to happen 🙂

  2. #2 by starsinhereye on March 27, 2012 - 8:59 pm

    You are so beautiful! I am so proud of the courage and strength you have shown by learning to be completely independent. You are radical! Lots of love to you!
    ~Audrey

  3. #3 by Venus on March 28, 2012 - 7:16 am

    Hey Dani!! Yay to joining team natural! I know last yr when you and BB came down here and we talked about hair, you said you loved relaxers..glad to see you’re going natural!!! WOO HOO to 3 HIS girls rocking natural hair!! I never heard of camp stew before! Maybe I should try making it! ~Venus

  4. #4 by radical7even on April 1, 2012 - 2:51 am

    Being yourself is a beautiful thing and so is that picture! Love how you are taking on so many things in a radical way. You are amazing Danielle.***Pam

  5. #5 by MrsCrystal on April 9, 2012 - 8:55 pm

    Love it hun!!! Trying your best is what God wants. 🙂
    -Crystal

Leave a Reply

