Nike Faith

Last week both my sister and I had high hopes for a week that fleshed out to be nothing like we planned. I was on top of the world on Tuesday after a glowing review from my bosses after an evaluation. The next morning I woke up in a great deal of pain and that lasted until late Saturday night. My sister, a journalist is in India for two weeks and generally has a jam packed schedule but it is working within an even tighter timeframe. Not speaking the language, not being familiar with her surroundings and being exhausted from all the hustle and bustle has only added to her frustration.

On Saturday night we skyped for the first time since I saw her a week before when she laid over in the city before her flight to India. We were both in somewhat sour moods but still excited to talk to each other. My sister is my absolute best friend. We are extremely close and there is never a day that we do not communicate in some way, shape, or form. She is smart, insightful and supportive. So I am particularly saddened when she is having a rough day. Both of us go into immediate “cheer up” mode when the other person is down and always instruct each other to activate the faith muscle, get praise in high gear and seek after God with every fiber that you have. We get serious. We get matter of fact; we brainstorm and come up with a game plan for how we will block the devil. Since I was feeling better, we were working on my sister’s plan of attack. After talking for a while I left her with these parting words “I know it’s hard to do, but JUST DO IT.” I told her that focusing on the positives when you are surrounded by negatives is difficult but it’s doable, you just have to do it. The alternative is wallowing and being even less productive and motivated to pull yourself out of the “funk”. I told her like the Nike slogan says: just do it. I told her you have to have some Nike Faith!

The next day (Sunday) I woke up feeling a lot better so I decided to go online to see if my sister was online. She immediately called me when I logged into Skype and with sheer excitement she screams “Go look at your Facebook wall, Gem you have to see the picture I posted) the picture below was what my sister saw after she left church that morning. She told me that she had taken out her camera to take a picture of the sign of the cross and when she looked at the image afterward she realized that the Nike sign was right next to it! She said she knew it was a sign from God confirming that our conversation was no accident. She said that a peace came over her and the worry was gone. We were shouting and praising his name so thankful that when you are determined to chase after him even when you barely have the energy, he will reward you. He never fails. I will say it again. MY GOD NEVER FAILS. I encourage you to have some Nike Faith.

One day at a time,

Gem

Image

  1. #1 by Venus on March 28, 2012 - 7:12 am

    Hey Gem! I like the relationship that you and your sister have! Its awesome! I love how ya’ll made plans to block the devil and how ya’ll both encouraged each other! I love the pic w/ the cross and nike sign! I’m glad things are getting a little better with her being in India. ~Venus

  2. #2 by starsinhereye on March 28, 2012 - 2:39 pm

    I love this story and picture. It’s faith captured! You and your sister are special people and I know that God watches over you both!
    Much love!
    ~Audrey

  3. #3 by Renee N. Chaffin on March 28, 2012 - 4:06 pm

    How dope is that!!!! God is always showing ways in which He is trying to reach us and shower us with His love, yet we are so caught up by our circumstances that we sometimes miss His sweet callings. I am so glad that He is always there..even when we don’t feel Him. Wonderful and inspiring entry

Leave a Reply

