845~Audrey

In honor of National Kidney Month, I want to take this month to share my experience with kidney disease and faith in hopes that other kidney patients will know they are not alone and that God still walks beside us.

 

My last entry for National Kidney month is one of hope. I’ve taken you through my journey of diagnosis and adaptation, but want to leave you with my blessings.

When my journey first started, I had creatnin level of 2,498. Normal function kidneys can put out up to 800 before they are considered problematic. As you can see, I was well above that level.

I started on a low dose blood pressure medicine which causes the inflammation of the scar tissue in my kidney to decrease making the filters more effective. I have started drinking more water, getting more rest, and going to the doctor at the first sign of sickness. I have continued to pray to God and heightened my spiritual journey. I’m, reading more Christian books, following daily devotionals, and reading the Bible each day.

I went to the doctor my check up two weeks ago. My creatnin levels? 845! The lowest number to date. I am officially stable, and go to see my nephrologists once year. My function is down to about 96 percent but those are acceptable number and are a decent trade off for the decrease in cratnin levels.

God has blessed me with health, with strength to get to that health, with doctors who care, and friends and family that support me. I thank each one of you who held me when I cried, rallied me when I was angry, kept me entertained during those sleepless nights, those who kept praying and praying and never doubted that I could overcome this disease and still be who I am.

Mark your calendars readers who live inMontgomery! The annual Kidney Walk will be August 18. I invite each and every one of you to come and support this cause. Meet some of the kidney patients the Alabama Kidney Foundation helps. Introduce yourself to me and put a face to this blog. Know that each step you take changes the lives of the people around you.

 

Love God. Love your neighbor. Love yourself. Love your kidneys.

 

Kidney Facts: Diabetes is the leading cause of kidney failure; next is high blood pressure

Men have a higher risk of kidney disease than women

 

  1. #1 by radical7even on March 31, 2012 - 6:44 am

    I am so happy for you Audrey! God has truly blessed you. I admire your strength, courage and tenacity to keep running towards your goal of getting better. I love you and I pray God continues to bless you!

  2. #2 by radical7even on March 31, 2012 - 6:44 am

    This is Bey by the way. 🙂

  3. #3 by Venus on April 4, 2012 - 6:40 am

    WOO HOO to your creatnin levels being down!! Praise God!!

Leave a Reply

