Highlights of my Week ~Venus

Hey everyone!  My week has been ok..I spent most of the week working and I volunteered yesterday.  I’m the director of the College Transition Program  and the Mamie Reese Scholarship fund. The College Transition Program helps graduating seniors adjust to college and help them during the whole college process (choosing major, choosing a college, etc). The Mamie Reese Scholarship Fund is a scholarship for graduating seniors and for freshmen in college. The people interested in the scholarship, will have to write a essay on a topic of my choice and whoever writes the best essay, will win the scholarship. I’ve been working on the programs for the past few months and I became at a standstill because I didn’t know how to get the programs up and running even though I had ideas for both of them.

Well on Sunday, I had a mini breakthrough.  One of my sorors contacted me regarding one of the programs (College Transition Program). She was interested in started a division of the program for her chapter. At first, I told her that I would get back with her because I didn’t have anything finalized. However, I continued to talk to her and she gave some ideas on what she wanted to do for her area. Once we came together and brainstormed I felt really happy because this is what I needed to get this program off the ground. I been really frustrated and overwhelmed for a couple of months on what to do with the programs. I’ve been praying for God to give me direction for the programs because I didn’t know what I needed to do. I’m glad that my soror contacted me because now, this program will be in action! What we are doing now for her chapter, will be the groundwork for the College Transition Program. All I could do was cry while I was talking to her because this program really needed a push. So praise God for the breakthrough!

Yesterday, when I volunteered the director of WHMC surprised me w/ letting me be on my own w/ a client (one of the interns shadowed me during the appt as part of my critique). I was really nervous w/ the client b/c it was my  first time doing it by myself. She probably could tell I was nervous..lol..I’m glad that she was talkative because it made it a lot easier for me to get through the appt. I hope that the director don’t surprise me like that next week!!! lol!! God bless!

~Venus

P.S. To learn more about my sorority (Theta Phi Sigma Christian Sorority, Inc) .programs visit http://www.pink-society.co.nr

 

  1. #1 by radical7even on April 1, 2012 - 2:55 am

    I am so glad you two were able to work together and pave the way for others. You are successful because you do not give up when you know you are meant to do something. Love you and your radical determination.

  2. #2 by Danielle on April 1, 2012 - 7:38 pm

    I’m sure you did great. It’s the first of me hearing about those 2 programs…they sound very interesting..if you ever need to bounce ideas, you know we are waiting and willing.

  3. #3 by Renee N. Chaffin on April 2, 2012 - 4:15 pm

    What director!!! you’ve been sitting on this information for months and not telling anyone..yet you claim that nothing is going on!!??? woah…lol I would hate to see when “something” is going on..crazy! But I am so glad God breathed new life into your programs..continue to update us hun

  4. #4 by Venus on April 4, 2012 - 6:11 am

    To comment #1 (don’t know who you are lol): I’m glad that God placed her to help keep this program off the ground. Thank you for your words of encouragement! To Dani & Nee: I thought I mentioned it to ya’ll..I guess not..apparently..lol..I’m usually good w/ those type of things..I try to keep ya’ll updated..Anywho thanks Dani for having my back on ideas!!To Nee: Lol! Yes, I’m glad for the new life!

Leave a Reply

